Day 1 of my Belgium trip! [Terneuzen, Ghent, Climb]

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Hi there fellow Steemers! I'm going to tell you about my first day of my trip to Belgium, other days of the trip will be posted in the future. I will write in detail, because I am scared that I will forget the small details. The small details make the trip great, and that's why I write them down :) I traveled in Belgium with @maxse, my travel buddy ❤️

I woke up in the morning at 8:30, I didn't have much sleep because of the hype for the trip so I was a bit drowsy. I showered and checked if I got everything. I packed as light as possible. I don't like walking around with a big bag. I packed an extra shirt, an extra sweater, 3 pairs of socks and 3 pairs of underwear, my lovely DSLR of course & an extra 50mm f1.8 lens, all my cables and one extra battery pack for my camera in case of emergency. I used my camera bag so I had to put all the clothes really creative in my bag which was a little work but it worked out well. 

While I was having breakfast I messaged Max that I was ready for the trip. A little later I walked too the closest bus stop and took the bus to Goes station. Max told me I didn't need to rush, he had his internship at 12:00 for a company located in Terneuzen. When I stepped in the bus to Terneuzen in Goes I saw Max sitting, what I did not expect. I walked to him and he was just as astonished as I was. He told me that the train connection sucked and he missed a bus earlier. We talked about the trip and he mentioned that he didn't bring a canvas for underneath the tent. I looked up if there was a camping shop in Terneuzen, luckily there was one.  We arrived in Terneuzen. Max went to his internship and I walked to the central part of Terneuzen. After a while I found the camping store after hard struggling now knowing the streets because I have never been to Terneuzen. The camping store was opening at 13:00 and it was 12:45. The store opened a little earlier so I got in and asked the shop keeper if they had a canvas for underneath the tent. She didn't have one unfortunately. She did gave me the tip to check a build store for a build-canvas thing, while I thanked her for the tip she asked me where I was going. I told her about my  trip to Belgium in a tent. She looked close at my sleeping bag and clothing and she started bashing about my cold clothing and my sleeping bag. I left pissed and walked around for a bit. I saw at a store some cheap warm gloves. I bought them because they were cheap. Than I walked back to the building where Max had his internship. I walked past the townhall of Terneuzen and it looked so sick that I had to take my camera out for a picture. Here is one of the pictures.   

After that I took the pictures i started walking around to see a little bit of the neighbourhood. I walked around a bit and then Max called me & said he was done. I came to the building and I met his new boss. He took us to a place to lunch and we had some good sandwiches. After that we went back to the building of the business. We had to go to a build store just out of the city center. We got in his car but unfortunately he only had 2 seats and a big trunk. I had to sit in the back, luckily there was a chair in there so I had some comfort. We bought a canvas and went to the home of Max his new boss. We chilled there for a few minutes. He offered us to give us a ride to Ghent, Belgium. We were really excited and 5 minutes after we were on our way to Ghent. I was sitting in the back of the car but it wasn't that bad after all.

A half hour later we arrived in Ghent. We got dropped of at the street of where our host lives. Max messaged some of his Belgium friends if they had a place to crash. Luckily one of them answered, his name is William Patt. I did not know him so I didn't know what to expect of him. We were looking around for his house but at that very moment William arrived on his bike from the supermarket. He let us in and showed us around in his building. He brought us to his tiny room with just a bed and a little desk. He had to bring something upstairs so we sat there. We started arguing on how we ever could fit in such a tiny room. William sleeps in a high sleeper so that was a good thing. 5 minutes later William came back and I introduced myself. He told us he had to do a lot of work but he had some time bringing us to a indoor session close to the station of Ghent. We got there but we didn't really enjoy it. He said he was heading to a supermarket after. We joined him and we talked a lot on the way there about climbing high stuff. It got me thinking about climbing something for some sick pictures, but I wasn't that serious about it. As we entered the supermarket we got ourselves our dinner and I bought some water & bananas. We walked back to Williams home, he went up stairs to make his dinner in the shared kitchen of his building. Eventually he clung there and Max & I started talking about his funny accent. Sorry not sorry William :) . I ate pasta pesto from the Albert heijn. It sucked so I threw it away and I ate some bananas to get powered up.  William had to do work till 00:00, so Max & I left to see some cool buildings in the city. We took a lot of photo's in Ghent. It is a really cool city with a lot of nice architecturistic buildings. Of course I couldn't stop myself from taking some photos. Here are some!


After we took some photo's we went back to William's building, he told us about a roof he wanted to show us. We had to wait for 20 minutes and then we left. It was a 5 minute walk to the building and it was under construction. It was a 22 story building, 64 meters high. We checked if there was security and we climbed over the fence and sneaked in the building. We climbed the stairs and at the last story we smelled something real bad. We opened the door and there was lying a big dump of shit. It was a fresh poop so we quickly went to a different story. Just to be sure. We found a way up on the building. We had to climb a few ladders on the shakers. When we got on the top I wasn't really focussed and at the end I didn't have many good shots. But here is one noisey photo that shows the location.

After the roof mission, William had to take a photo for a book for school, he told us what he wanted and of course we helped him out. We went to the city center and we took the picture. On the way we had a small session and a lot of fun.   photo by: @maxse

We arrived at the location and tried to take the picture on several ways. After a few photo's we got the shot we wanted and it turned out great. William was happy and so were we.

We had a great stay at William's place. I sleeped in his hammock and Max on a couch-bed. I want to thank William for our stay and his kindness. This was my first day in Belgium. 

See you later steemigators? :)


Sort:  

Great Pics @ilyapk keep up the great stories