My March of War Story, Episode 1 - A New Commander takes To the Battlefield

in #story7 years ago

2230509-marchofwar_on_centerpiece-1024x520.jpg

Commander's Log Entry 1..

So I think it's time I start talking about my experience with March of War. All of my friends have been talking about it and sharing their stories, so now I think it's my turn to do the same.

Just like my friends @Akrid, @lazy-writer, and @rgba might have talked about, I have also played the infamous game March of War. At first, I was just looking for a game that will satisfy my hunger for my first favorite game. Warcraft III. I was a huge player of the game, not really for the normal ladder games, but for the custom games, specifically roleplaying games. I was a huge roleplayer in Warcraft III, and I was also very well-known in the WC3 community for my roleplaying skills. But the laptop that held the game broke and I haven't been able to replace it. So for the first few months of not playing WC3 made me hungry for some other game. That is when I found March of War.

download.jpeg

My first impression of March of War is a pretty cool chess-like strategy game. The units were interesting, the gameplay was decent, and the community seemed really active. But it's not until a few months in that I realized its potential. The community is largely playing as roleplayers. And me being a huge roleplayer, I wanted to roleplay as a commander too. So I thought to myself, "I found home".
You see, in March of War, you choose a faction to align yourself with and you participate in its wars. My very first faction was the European Alliance (EA). The EA was my first pick naturally because of its advanced vehicular power. Its tanks and vehicle variations is what first caught my interest.

20130324234308a0dfk90lmdq88zzn.png
When you choose a faction, you get to customize your profile's character image and choose a name on which you would be known as. My very first MoW name was Imperator Rigel. Note Note: Why Imperator? I was a huge fan of Roman military history, and Imperator was a title given to a specific general who has command to his own private army. When I joined the European Alliance, they were on a full-on war with, I think, two factions, the United Republic (North America) and the Soviet Union. The European Alliance was trying to make an alliance the Soviet Union, while launching a massive invasion on the United Republic. But when I joined the fray, there were numerous attacks on the Soviet Union lands, probably from rogue officers who thought it would be a good idea to waste an attack choice on an ally. Anndddd... For some reason, I felt a bit rebellious and decided to attack on those fronts. Like I would expect, EA High Command did not like that. In fact, I was immediately labeled a traitor and everyone ignored me. Note, for those that don't know, High Command is a group of experienced players who have authority to launch attacks on factions and give out orders to the rest of the faction. Each faction had their own high command.

6fc357c022ea7b30dbe1e91f7c017b19--strategy-games-grip.jpg
Because of my reckless attacks on their allies, I was not really liked much in the European Alliance. Come to think of it, I think I was also lashed out by one of EA's most respected generals, VietnamVet, which made me traitor #1. I didn't really mind though. I just continued attacking. The thing with the March of War developers is that they never really made a penalty for breaking faction formal laws, such as following your commanders. So I was able to continue disobeying without any real consequence.
But as I continued this, I found myself getting more bored of the European Alliance's faction. Not because I was ignored or anything like that, but because I started to find their units incredibly dull. It's all just tanks, tanks, and more tanks. Did I mention tanks? Of course they had other units such as different types of infantry, and a couple of air units. But they solely focused on tank power. For a normal commander, lots of tank variety is a good thing, but when your entire faction is just depending on vehicle power, it can get pretty dull. I found it dull.

47d0ac87110c879c9fed1c403564ecf8dc2e7f26.jpg
So I decided to change factions. But this time, I would actually follow orders and listen to high command. But at this point in my MoW story, I was really interested in long-range action. Artillery started becoming a huge factor for my next decisions. I wanted to find a faction that would satisfy my hunger for long-range destruction. March of War had this faction, and it was a gift from God to me that I found this faction.

The United Republic... I will continue in my next report.

End Commander's Log Entry..

Thanks for reading! If you like what you see, please let me know in the comments below! Also, please upvote if you like it! I'm currently using the steemit platform as a side-way to making money for my college expenses! Thank you so much!
~ Joshua A. I.

Photo Source:
http://2p.com/514fc908c01da10d80e6ee32_1/New-Turn-based-Strategic-March-of-War-Arrives-at-Tablet-Play.htm
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/552887291726548614/
https://steamcommunity.com/app/234310
https://www.gamespot.com/march-of-war/
http://www.steamcardexchange.net/index.php?gamepage-appid-234310

Sort:  

Awesome! EA was fun to PVP with. BORING for pve.
You could always find a co-op partner though, so that was a plus.

True! I had a blast playing PVP with EA. Though because of my rebellious attacks, I had no partner to co-op with xD

lol that's unfortunate. I got to try a pvp co-op once. That was very rare, but fun!

Congratulations @jaimusic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is Fun

Beautiful story . I like it. i think that something is old but very good.