Bow making flint Knapping and friends

in #story6 years ago

SO IT BEGINS

"Dad, I want a bow and arrow." Those were the words from my son that led us down the road to me writing this.
It was three months ago, he and I had went to a friend of mines house. He's a good ol' country boy, lives a simple life. Nestled back into the small forest on the backside of his house. He has a small pond instead of a back yard. A heart full of love...and, well a broke down truck that I was there to get going for him.
It was while I was working on that truck that my boy, Evan, was introduced to traditional bows. I was under the hood of the truck when I heard, "Dad, what's this stuff?"
He had grown bored of chasing the chickens that run loose down there, and had taken time to notice some things in his surroundings. Specifically, some wood working hand tools laid around a work area nearby the truck.KIMG0496.JPGinCollage_20180327_191328103.jpg
I said, "Well my friend, Tony, makes bows." He looked at me sheepishly, in disbelief.
"You mean like the kind you can shoot? How can he do that?" He responded quickly and almost challengingly. He was six at the time and, like still today, knew everything.
Well Tony arrived shortly thereafter and quickly explained how it is that it's possible to turn a tree into a bow and some arrows. Evan sat enamored, listening with deep intent as this man explained the process.
Evan was touched, and a bit obsessed now. On the ride home he said those words, "Dad I want a bow." But he didn't just want a bow, he wanted to make it.
I told him I would talk to Tony and see if we could arrange a time for them to sit down together and make one. I called him later and we talked a couple different times about it.
However, life being as busy as it can be, we never found time and unfortunately a few months passed.

Look what I found in the back yard

One evening, after a good day of school and work, Evan and I were playing in the backyard. I had received a call and was just finishing up when I heard,"Dad, look what I found."
I looked up from the phone and he had found himself, what was in his eyes, a perfect stick to make a bow from. He asked if I thought it would work. I told him with confidence, "It's at least a place to start."
He wanted immediately to go inside to begin work on it. He was done with outside. A small semi-forgotten ember had welled up in him. He was set on it. It's time to make a bow.
"Hey Dad, can I have a butter knife to skin the bark off. It's the first step."
With a sheepish grin, I turned to get him that knife....so it begins.

*This is part one of a two or three piece series detailing the journey to a bow maker's house to obtain a traditional style home made bow. Here are a few more photos to give you a glimpse ahead.


KIMG0589.JPG


KIMG0575.JPG


KIMG0544.JPG

🤗🤗SPECIAL THANKS TO @ADELEPAZANI FOR HELPING ME IMPROVE MY POSTS🤗🤗

Sort:  

Wow. You guys did good. Awesome story.

Thank you so much. It's good to hear from you! I hope everything is good on you guy's end. I can't wait for your next post! I hope you have a great day
Tell dablerdad I said hello too, if you would please. And hello to the rest of the family too. ☺. All my love to you and yours.

Nice Content,
Send me 5 steem I'll resteem your post.

and one another you can use this format to make your paragraph at the center :

< center > your sentences < /center >

here i used space inside < >, delete all spaces and use in your post ,

I'm not understanding this one. But I will try using it to learn. Thank you so much. Did you ever figure out if you would be able to mail me a painting? If it's too big of a deal it's okay. Anyway, I hope all is well with your family. All of my love to you and all of yours. And may our creator bless yous.

ill show you by a picture, its super easy ,

about the painting, first tell me which one do you like ?

hello

I DID IT!!! Thank you!
As far as the painting, you know more of what you have then I know. I'm looking for one my sister would like for her wedding and to remember me. Do you have a couple you think are a good idea? If so maybe you can show me which ones you think would be good? I have looked all over your posts....but I can't decide on just one. They're all so good!

I noticed, on my end, it looks as though you have stopped following me. I truly hope I haven't done something to upset you. If I have done something that you take issue with please let me know and I'll try to fix it. In any case I hope you have a great night or day.

hi john, how are you? , i was using phone 2 days ago , and i really don't know why it happened !
i wanted to answer you in a good mood , i was gloomy yesterday , i mean the previous comment :)
sorry for the accidentally unfollowing , followed you again , :D

🎉🎊😁😁😁😁😁😁🎉🎊

:D

Screenshot (362).png

Screenshot (363).png

This will be very helpful!
And thank you so much for resteeming my "thank you" post. You're such a wonderful person!

Did you make all of those? Awesome! It's a good way to improve creativity and patience.