My favorite coat

in #story6 years ago

Today the weather is very bad. Heavy rain flushed the earth and lightning struck. I sat daydreaming in front of my house thinking of something I could do so that the needs of my child and wife would be fulfilled.

A few days ago I was fired by my employer for no reason. I was forced to go home with a hopeless hope. I tried to accept this fact even though it felt bitter and hoped Allah SWT gave the best for me and my family.

Since being fired, I haven't been able to find a new job. My son Mayang has been whining from yesterday asking to buy his textbook. My wife also continued to urge me to immediately find work. I just agreed to the words of the two of them. I have applied for many jobs but nothing has been received. Sometimes I blame myself because during school I was not serious in learning and was tired of going to school so I finally dropped out of school when I was in second grade in junior high school. My elementary school diploma doesn't mean nowadays, it's very difficult for me to find a job. For this reason, I always emphasize to Mayang that he is always diligent in learning so that he is not in the same boat with his father and mother.

Rain doesn't stop. I kept watching the rain falling. The water that came down never complained even though he kept falling down. I realize that life is not always above, it will sometimes fall like rain. But the rain water never gave up, he remained patient despite repeated falls and someday he would return to the top. I was moved by what I witnessed. Subhan Allah.

"Sir ... Sir ..." Alif's neighbor's voice shocked me. He looked soaked standing beside me.
"What's the Lif?"
"Gini sir ... my father wants to go to the house of his office mate, but the rain doesn't stop too. So dad asked me to borrow your coat. If Mr. Amri doesn't mind, I want to borrow a coat, "Alif said.

The coat Alif meant was my parents' coat. That's the only thing I still keep and guard. I remembered the two of them who had painstakingly raised me and even dared to risk their wealth and life just for me.

"Sir ... sir ... how come daydream sir?"
"Uh yeah, for a moment Lif! You get me first. "

I then took the coat and lent it to Alif. Alif immediately returned home. I returned to my daydream. Remembering when my father and mother advised me to be a good child. However, my messages I never gave away. Now I realize how difficult it is to be a parent. I regret having buried their hopes first. I never expected my parents' advice to be useful to me now even though I used to think that advice was just useless nonsense.

I got up from my seat and entered the house. I saw my son Mayang busy making his homework. I walked into the living room and found my wife crying.
"Why are you crying?"
My wife turned her gaze towards me with a pity.
"Why?" I asked again.
"Your mother died, sir." The cry broke and the cell held by him was given to me. With a shivering hand, I put the cellphone in my ear and heard the voice of my sister Epi.
"Bang, mother died half an hour ago."
The cell phone in my hand fell to the floor, I cried real-time.