You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Doing The Best We Can With What We’ve Got

in #story5 years ago

The previous generation was way more resilient and we were lucky to learn from them. I'm nowhere near as creative as your father, for instance, yet I firmly believe in the try again thing.
As for the next generation, they're living better times, they have never known hardships. I've often worried about my children and their future, how would they deal with hardship? But I guess they'll manage somehow. In my country we have a saying like 'there's no better teacher than need'. Something like you're father and his invention, which is truly amazing.

Sort:  

There's no better teacher than need. I love that because it's so true. Lessons learned from need are deeply ingrained. The different attitudes of the generations is so cyclical. Sooner or later hardship will be sure to revisit us and create another resilient generation. Thank you for your comment!