You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Doing The Best We Can With What We’ve Got

in #story5 years ago

What wonderful memories @ericvancewalton! I love the pic where your Dad's sitting on his Mom's lap, so sweet!
Your Dad's invention is quite ingenious, simple yet so effective! Reminds me so much of mine, he also loved inventing all kinds of gadgets to make tasks easier, if something broke he'd often make up parts to get it working again. That generation knew how to stretch every penny, they took nothing for granted! Nothing was wasted; water & electricity all had to be used sparingly.
Nowadays things come too easily but I do see some of those values in my children.
Your Dad is amazing!

Sort:  

Thank you @lizelle! He was a cool cat sitting there smoking his cigarette. : ) I just talked to him this morning and he's sending me 15 of his prototypes. He wants to call it "the hooker" but I think we'd better come up with a better name than that. Lol.

I remember reading some of your memories of your father. They would have been two peas in a pod for sure.

You are so right about them being frugal and energy conscious. We would have to turn off the lights anytime we left a room...this was so ingrained in me that I still do it, despite the fact that most of our lights are LED and use almost no electricity.

Haha yep I agree that name will have to change but it is kind of catchy, I can just imagine an advert for the hooker LOL.

He still has a great sense of humor. : )