THE JOY OF CHILDHOOD MEMORIES ( The creation of SWEETS JAMMIN )

in #story6 years ago (edited)

F853149B-F485-48BC-AFAB-16C473DDC443.jpeg64FAC750-2137-4E1D-A269-9478A3910D0A.jpeg

The concept of this painting was started about twenty nine years ago.
The original sketches l could not find. Lost from moving to different apartments through out
my life before l bought my first house. So l am going by memory. Back then l was encouraged
by my good friend Jane Stone. She was my art mentor, one of the first female black illustrator in Mpls back in the forties plus fifties friend and family, someone who was always there when l needed support as a artist.

One day when l was reminiscing of childhood days and all the brilliant colors that catch children’s eyes.
A idea came to me with the title SWEETS JAMMIN. Stuck visually l turned to my mentor Jane. How can l
do this l said? I am so frustrated trying to arrange the colors and come up with characters. Go with you’re
heart was her response. What kind of candy did you like as a kid she said to me. Well l loved ice cream cones, suckers
and Hershey bars. There you have she said with a giggle. l did two rough sketches and stopped. I wasn’t
dedicated to my talent or my destiny at the time. Too busy partying and chasing women. So immature was l.

8D8B69D1-3BD3-4ECC-AE39-97C19616C936.jpeg
Let’s get back to the present. I started with yellow for the curtain farthest away from the drum player. Than added red to the next set of
curtains. Then brown for the drum player, blue for the floor. Started on the ice cream cone then the head
of the suckers.
4991C2CD-B2BE-4D17-83B7-EF667B4C176E.jpeg
This is where it started to get fun! I added purple to the stage and green to the speakers.
I put eyes on the ice cream cone, put light brown in for the eyes.D25001C4-602C-4531-91CF-15C8BFA63E6A.jpeg
Brown was added to the mouth, cords to the bass and guitar,more detail was done on the stage and light brown on the floor arms.C7BB7E7A-BDEC-4C7A-B18B-55044A57BEC8.jpeg
Texture was added to the ice cream cone, more blending of the blue on the stage.A110CB8B-53E6-433D-AC0C-5FD5065B8EFB.jpeg
Painted in both hats started detail on the speakers.
A14A9C06-F9FE-4385-B90F-68F470638726.jpeg
Added more definition in front of the speakers.72CC7CB5-BC61-4EFD-A616-E23F787094A4.jpeg
Now it’s totally about the fun!
14C843ED-76D2-41BC-9AAE-834D743C92A3.jpeg
Happy carefree days are hear again!
Let’s have a world full of color!
F9BE3A3D-5EED-46A7-8368-E554A074C6CF.jpeg
We all have fun fun fun!
886C9826-5D60-44E4-B4A9-EE1675FD2F1D.jpeg
All good things in time.5C069DE5-B06C-467D-9B82-886DF7879B3F.jpeg
Almost there.
42A05EFC-AA09-4BDC-9A7F-9C39EDA966E6.jpeg
Done.75F96F20-764B-4D7F-9A39-0DC8B6D04B13.jpeg
The forty seven hours it took to finish this painting was worth it.
It brought back memories of my beloved friend who l consider to be my adopted aunt Jane stone.
Jane l hope you can here me in heaven. How l miss those talks we used to have. The laughter
we shared. You always believed in me even when l didn’t myself. When l felt l was heading into
darkness you were there to bring me out to the light with your heart of gold. I wish you could see what l am
doing now on earth so we could talk about it. But l hope you’re looking down seeing that l finally
got it together and quit comparing myself to other artist. I LOVE YOU JANE AND ALWAYS WILL.
I SIGN THIS WITH MY HEART AND TEARS IN MY EYES.

We all must search and develop the talents we have and not worry about someone else
or what people say. So many people let that get to them never giving time and blessings
a chance. You must have faith before you have success and be persistent. It comes for everyone
at different times. Just because someone you know has it before you doesn’t mean that
it isn’t coming. I have a good friend she told me today she done being a artist she has decided
give up on herself and quit. It saddens me so.

Sort:  

Loved the creativity that's really awesome :D

Thank you blazing.

This is a really good Juan. I love how you broke down the process and provided extensive history about your motivations! This is your best yet.

Thank you my friend.

Yes.
I remembered also my childhood days

Its full of sweet memories.

Missed those i grew up with.

Blessings.

Loved your blog posts.

I Upvoted and following you already for more awesome posts.

Hopefully, i will be a lucky fellow like you too

I appreciate your praise. Thank you.

This is really warm man.. you know If you can’t get someone off of your mind; It’s because your mind always know what your heart is thinking..

Thank you regalsoldier.

nice post luckyfellow

Thank you hitachi.

i am yournew follower.jpg

Really ! :-)

Thank you agneslaczo.

wow.....excellent art. looks very beautiful.......i impress

Thank you faisal79.

We all need a Jane. They make all the difference when you get down. This is a great post about your process. I love the painting!

Thank you annhoyblog.

Awesome, such an awesome and inspiring story to go along with the fun art that does make me feel like a kid looking at it lol "You must have faith before you have success and be persistent." This is the truth! One of my paintings I did took me 520 hours over a period of 6 months. I haven't shared it yet on Steemit though. I should soon, maybe when I reach 2500 followers :)

I would love to see it. My friend Eric and l will be in Montreal September 6th through the 10th. We would love to check out your art studio. Let me know if that’s possible. Thank you for you’re support.

So far I don't have any plans for those dates, so I should be around :)

Cool l will send you a post sometime after we get there. We will be staying in the Old Port area. Take care.

Perfect, I'm just across the river in Brossard, about 15-20 mins from the Old Port.

Great work

Thank you puppy.

Your posts always impressive and meaningful.

Thank you khalidniaz.

I like your great posts ↩🔄🔁

Thank you amirhayat.

So nice i like art work

Thank you kiswa22.

Cute work @luckyfellow

Thank you bismakhan.

Nice work my friend

Thank you shamsa.

So cute

Thank you babarkhan100

Supper one

Thank you oldman2000.

Waoo nice work I resteemd

Very nice post. Good @luckyfellow

Welldone painting my friend .I like him