Short Story: My experience at Freedom university

in #story6 years ago

I was to remember my first day at Freedom University for a long time. On arrival on campus, I expected to be met by some stale students (as was the practice in my secondary school) but every student around was new like myself and from afar off I could see a sea of heads). I asked the way to Grant Hall but no one could tell me. I asked a number of other questions about issues that bothered me, such as where and how to pay the fees, the way to the dining hall and so on, but no help was forthcoming.

So in the midst of so many people I am all alone,’ I mused to myself. The prospect was not in the least cheerful and all the elation I had felt at gaining entry into a renowned university at sixteen began to disappear. Then as if propelled by an unknown benevolent force, I walked a little bit down the corridor in the direction of a notice board at which some ten young men and women were peering. For want of something to do, I decided to stop and look at the noticeboard. Alas! I had opened the key to all the riddles that had dribbled me since I set foot on campus that morning. On the board there was a big campus map in which I was able to locate Grant Hall and other places of interest. There were details of the various activities lined up for the three days of orientation for freshmen and a comprehensive list of those offered admission into various courses. How blissful I felt to see the light of knowledge, having been wallowing in the darkness of ignorance. Even then I was not able to escape the thought that though I could not be sure how much of the responsibility for the darkness was mine, the fact that something had not been done to draw attention to that apocalypse of a noticeboard had contributed clearly to my initial predicament. All that notwithstanding, I learnt from that incident an indelible lesson which was to stand me in very good stead throughout my stay in the university, namely, the importance of reading noticeboards and handbills if one is to be well informed about places and events in the university.

Thanks for your time, I'm Lurvie✍

Sort:  

Source
Plagiarism is the copying & pasting of others work without giving credit to the original author or artist. Plagiarized posts are considered spam.

Spam is discouraged by the community, and may result in action from the cheetah bot.

More information and tips on sharing content.

If you believe this comment is in error, please contact us in #disputes on Discord

Hello! I find your post valuable for the Steemit community! Thanks for the great post! @steemitcentral has upvoted your post. ALWAYS follow @Steemitcentral and use the steemitcentral tag to get some upvotes!
Also, kindly upvote @Steemitcentral posts to get future upvotes! Join @steemitcentral on discord. We want to hear from you.

IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg

To get upvote from @wafrica, the post needs at least 300 characters! Please describe your work in detail ;-)

Thanks for using the girlsfoundation tag as one of your tags. Don't forget to follow @girlsfoundation.
You can also vote @drakos as witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @Steemjetceleb by using steemjet tag.✌
Follow @steemjetceleb account to get update about the upcoming contest.

logofinal.jpg