3 PHOTOS ABOUT... Whales Megaptera !

in #story4 years ago

3 PHOTOS ABOUT...

In these articles, I invite you to discover 3 of my photos and some explanations on an animal or a specific subject.



Today: WHALES MEGAPTERA




Baleine6 bis.jpg

_DSC6235_DxO.jpg

Baleine drone1.jpg



Humpback whales are certainly the most impressive marine animals I have ever had the chance to swim with. I have seen it in Mayotte, Madagascar, Mohéli, Cape Verde and New Caledonia. Some adults I have met were about 15m in length. I let you imagine the apprehension it can cause. Their song can be heard several kilometers away. I happened to spend an hour of diving hearing the song of the whales and never seeing them. It's unforgettable. Their cries of alert is terrorizing him. Females can cry out if they do not agree that you get too close to their young. I made this mistake once, and I still remember it ...

Whales need 11 months of gestation, which explains the slowness of their procreation and the fragility of their species. They live most of the time around the poles and joining the warmer tropical zones to give birth to their young and reproduce. This trip can last almost 2 months. I am currently in Cape Verde where I have observed many individuals before the pandemic. The covid unfortunately interrupted my observations because circulation at sea is now prohibited. But I know they are still there, not far away ...!



Google translation - Original text in french


Contact me on discord #4302 or in this comment section


How to follow me ?

On Instagram here

On my website

On Facebook here



Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 5 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
2

Very cool photos. How did you take the underwater one?

Approach whales is not so easy. I use my sailingboat. When the weather is quiet, I stop the sailingboat and take the dinghy. After that I let it and go on swimming and try to take a photo. I use my DSLR inside a housing with a fisheye lense.