Greek God

in #story2 years ago



I stared at myself in the rusted mirror, trying to see if I looked any different. I'd been living under the bridge since the day of my birth, with Shiloh and Jasper, the two stray dogs that I happened to find in the park. I didn't know who my parents were, and I didn't know how or why I had been dumped on the streets. Lord only knew how many kids ended up living the same way; I often saw them walking the streets, begging and stealing to survive.

I sighed, placing my head in my hands. For now, I finally had enough to eat. Luckily, it had been a good day for begging, and safe enough for me to scavenge for food. With the money I had left, I could afford a decent meal for the first time in months. I placed a hand over my stomach, willing it to be filled, and not re-emerge with cramps. As I walked out into the sunlight, I smelled the distinctive aroma of burgers, and my mouth watered. I knew where the smell was emanating from. It was the burger shop I always passed. I never went inside; it was way out of my price range.

Suddenly, a hand caught my shoulder, and I froze. This part of the city wasn't safe, not when the sun went down. I scrunched up my eyes and turned around to come face to face with a tall, handsome man. He wasn't wearing a jacket or a shirt, despite the chilly autumn breeze, exposing his rippling muscles. The first thing I thought of was: How did he survive without overheating?

''Are you alright, boy?'' he said, and I was surprised to hear his voice was deep, almost like a growl.

''Yes, yes, I'm fine. Thanks,'' I said, desperately trying to seem normal.

''For a moment, I thought you were going to bolt,'' he said, smiling.

''No. Of course not. I was just admiring the statue, but it's nothing special, really,'' I said.

His eyes flashed with recognition. ''You should get going, then. As the locals would say: the sun sets fast in this part of the town.''

I nodded and walked past him, quickly, but then I turned my head just in time to see him stuff a few dollars into a homeless man's paper cup. I felt a smile spread across my face. It was so nice to see a kind and open-minded man in Shady Oak. The mere thought of going out and seeking people like this for help made me happy; even if I didn't know them.

As I walked away, I noticed a fire lit up in a nearby trash bin. In the smoke and darkness, I couldn't see a person inside, but I knew that if they saw me they would surely leave me close to death. I knew that if I stayed any longer, I'd be tempted to take my last look at the statue before heading home. It was better to leave now before I even opened my mouth to speak.

''Hey kid,'' A voice said, and I froze. ''Aren't you forgetting something?''

''Ah, yeah,'' I said and turned around. I made my way back to the fire and plucked a dollar bill out of my pocket. I placed it into the man's cup and smiled. The statue was my only friend.

''I can't help having a soft spot for him, though. I wish I could scratch his nose and tell him that he's a good boy. I wish I could tell him that I'm a good boy, too.''

I hid my face in my hands and sobbed.

The next day, I woke up, feeling as though I hadn't had a good sleep in months. I sighed and looked at Shiloh, who stared back and sighed too. That was how we always greeted each other, unless one of us was in a particularly bad mood. We took a walk around the park, just to feel some fresh air and sun on our faces. We had got so used to the sewage smell that I sometimes forgot it was there.

Suddenly, I stopped for a minute and stood stock still. I had caught the scent of someone with a lot of money. With just one deep breath, my mind was filled with thoughts of planchas and restaurant food.

I debated whether or not to follow the scent. I knew that if I went in and begged, I would surely be caught. What if I went in and didn't do anything? I could just stand there looking as though I were a rich person's son, someone who had lost all his money. The scent of the rich person was powerful. They had to be close, perhaps passing the park soon, or perhaps even in the same block. I quickly scanned the area, but didn't see anyone who could fit the bill.

I looked back to the statue, who stared back at me, as he always did.

''Should I go in, Dad?'' I asked.

''Ah, sure, Shiloh. Do you want to?'' Shiloh asked, wiping his nose on his sleeve, and I couldn't help but smile at him. We would be a lovely litter of two puppies. It was true; even now, I wasn't sure if I was really his father. Shiloh ran across my leg, as if to ask me a question, and I looked back at the statue, but he had disappeared.

I turned around and saw him. He was just standing there, still surrounded by a thick cloud of smoke. He looked; just as he had done the day before, as though he were seasoning a steak. He was not at all distressed about the statue disappearing or the fire.

''What are you doing here?'' I asked.

''Just checking if the smell was still a good one. You know; keeping the customers happy,'' he replied.

I suddenly felt a little bit wary. It was dangerous to be around people with money. There was always something to fear; there was always something you didn't know that could drive you mad for no reason at all.


src

Sort:  

Congratulations @marlynthompson! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!