Lost visions

in #story2 years ago



On the evening of the first day of my freshman year at college, in the depths of late August, I was feeling very alone. My family and close friends had already gone their separate ways to start the next chapter of their lives, and I was left standing in a bedraggled group of late-comers. I felt as though everyone in the group had known each other for ages, and whilst I was happy for them to be happy, I was also very sad for myself being so alone. I felt something tugging at me. I turned around and saw another of the same group of friends. His face was blurry, but I could tell it was him. I lost myself in his aura and felt the sudden urge to reach out and touch him. I held my hand out to him and he grabbed my hand in a forceful way, pulling me close to his chest. He then pulled away and looked at me with an expression that could not be contained in such a small space so as to be a smiling expression. The first part of his figure suddenly became clearer and he was in fact smiling at me. I felt like I needed to say something and looked at him with a questioning expression.

"I'm Robby," he said, "have you been here before?"

"No," I replied.

"Then I'll show you to your room so you can get settled in."

Robby was probably the kindest man I had ever met. He took me to the room I was supposed to be in and was very accommodating the whole time. I thanked him for his kindness and he told me that it was no problem. But I could tell deep down he really didn't want to leave me alone, alone. We said our goodbyes and he left for his home for the holiday weekend. I took a shower and started thinking about how strange it was that I felt very comfortable with a stranger. Well, not a stranger, I felt like I knew him already. It was almost as though I had seen him before or knew who he was. It's hard to explain. What I thought didn't seem enough to be real, so I decided to just finish getting ready and go to bed.

As soon as I had done so and fell asleep, I woke up again to find myself walking. I had no idea where I was going, and no memory of the last time I had been there. I didn't even know where I was at all.

Oddly enough, I did recognize the sky of the realm I was in. It was a turquoise blue sky with purple clouds. I looked down below me and saw several gray blocks. I reached out to one of them and it suddenly became clearer. I jumped down to it and the ground felt damp. The atmosphere was filled with an overpowering smell of wet soil and blood. I looked up to the vast sky and then back to the ground. I was being pulled slowly towards a single large block that was a faded red color.

"No," I said, "I'm not supposed to be here. I'm not supposed to be here, you cannot make me stay here."

But I was already at the block and could feel the pressure difference in my body from the block pushing me and the ground pulling me away from it. I tried running away farther and faster, but was pulled back helplessly.

The large block grew into an expanse of tumbled stones and then a cave. It only took a few seconds for me to stand in the very center of it. The cave was about forty feet tall and twenty feet wide. It reached back in another thirty feet or so. The small end of the cave was lit only with a candle that was lit in a rough holder that sat on the floor. There was a small figure lying on the ground, with another figure kneeling down next to him. They both turned in my direction, but I could feel no aura or presence from the two.

The standing figure was shrouded in a black cape and wearing a hood while the figure on the ground was wearing only a black suit, his back straightened and unmoving. The standing figure lifted the hood and I could tell the person with their back to me was a man and the other was a woman.

"What's that sound," said the crouched figure with a voice that seemed to be strained, "What's that sound?"

"It's nothing," replied the standing figure, "just someone running through the tunnel. But don't worry, it'll be gone soon enough."

The figure on the ground lifted their head and looked at me hard as though they wanted to see through my disguise and see who I was. The two figures looked at each other and the one on the ground spoke again.


src