Miserably lost

in #story2 years ago



I was sure I was going to die.

I took off my backpack, thinking that this cabin would be my only option. I didn't know where else to go. The woods were dark, and there was no other sign of life. I tried to open the door, but there was no knob, only a keyhole. The lock looked different than all the others I've ever seen. It was more intricate, with a tight, tidy keyhole. I looked around for a part to use as a key, but there was nothing.

"There's no key," I whispered quietly. I reached into my backpack and pulled out my small red writing notebook. I opened it and wrote down everything I had seen so far. "There's no key. No door knob. What could it be?" There was writing on the walls, but I couldn't understand it. "There's writing on the walls. I don't understand it." There were two paintings hanging on the wall. "The paintings look old. I wonder how long someone has been gone." I walked up to the pictures and pulled my flashlight from my backpack. They were portraits of two people, woman and a man. "It looks like the man is my age. It looks like he's already dead. The woman kind of looks like me. The painting looks older, like maybe twenty years."

I walked over to the fire place and looked at it. The fire place was clean, and there was something strange about the ashes. It seemed wierd to just have ashes and no kindling, so I picked up a stone nearby and started to tidy up. Then I noticed the ashes shifting. "I'd better get out of here quick before I get in trouble." I grabbed my backpack and walked over to the door. It was strange, I knew, but I kept thinking someone else had been here before. Maybe a friend of his who still lived there, or a family member. Maybe a ghost, which was even weirder. I shook my head and tried the door again.

"It doesn't open," I cried. "How can it not open? This is crazy..." My breathing was heavy now. Panic had set in, and I felt the need to survive in this man-made cave. I walked over to the fire place and searched the grid of stones and ashes. I found nothing. Then I noticed a small key sitting on a stone in impracticle. There was also a small piece of wood in the ashes, and I almost took it. Then I realized how ridiculous I would look if someone else were here. "What was that?" I asked myself. I walked over to the table and scanned the woods again. "Nothing. Nothing there." One by one, I moved my fingers over each chair, until I was sitting at the table. I looked at the key and reached to grab it. But something stopped me. The key was glowing.


src