Singer of the night

in #story3 years ago



"His music builds a world where I can be young and free again" (Lawrence) I lie in the darkness listening to the music of the ghost of my fallen husband, Lawrence. The sound of the melody we have engraved in our minds together, the familiar beat along with the haunting notes sends me into a passionate trance every time it plays. As our lives come to a stunning climax, we meet on the edge of the barbed fence where our souls will be forever separated. And here I am, listening to him, my long-time love, play the song for the first time in years. I let the sound of it entice me away from the maddening voices and bitter memories that plague my memory.

"Ada, you're dreaming again!" (Asha) Awakened from my daydream, I begin to hear the sounds of the world around me. My best friend and roommate, Asha, is beginning her work day as she peeks out the window, sighing. Unable to fully open her eyelids, she turns rigorously to face my direction, glaring at me. My mind clears, revealing to me the full intensity of the morning. I sigh and close my eyes, weary from such a profound experience. I lay on the bed and let the morning sun shine through the cool walls of our apartment, savouring life for a few more minutes.

"But it feels like the heavens fell on me" (Lavender) The day passes and my release from the daze of the night is a soft knock at the door. Asha opens the door and I give a moment to the unexpected night visitor. Lavender rushes in and clinches me in a tight hug. "Ada," she says, her voice full of joy, "you have to come now. It's Lawrence." I stare at Asha, motioning for her to leave. She complies with my silent command and closes the door behind her.

"Is it his music?" (Lavender) I rush Lavender away from the door and further into my room, sitting her down on my bed. I slide the door open, locking it behind me. She turns to face me and sees the magnitude of the situation. "Is it his music?" she asks again, adding more anticipation to the situation. I walk to my desk and retrieve a small wooden box, handing it to her. "Go ahead," I say. I sit down behind her, showing her nothing but affection, and she reaches out to open the box. To her disappointment, the box is empty.

"I haven't saved him yet. There is still time." (Adah) Her face reflects the emptiness of my heart as she puts the box down. My eyes well up with tears for Asha, for Lavender, and for Lawrence. He was my first and only true love. We were children when we met. We fell in love at first sight, at first sound. I knew I was different, and I knew everyone else said the same thing, but I didn't care. I saved him from a fiery disaster, and we continued on to love all of our lives.

"Well," she says finally, squinting her eyes and holding her hip out in the air, "you will have to save him nonetheless." She opens a chest tucked away in my closet and takes out a white wool coat, looking as if she had just tossed it on. "It is cold outside, and unless you plan to spend the night in bed," Lavender says sarcastically, "you will have to take his coat. There is a note inside. Read it and then we will figure out what to do." I shrug off my sleepiness, plucking the coat from her hands as I stand up. "You're taking the coat?" I ask.

"Adah, I live at home. Of course I'm taking the coat. I might as well wear it in place of my own." I smile, putting on the coat that Lawrence had left for me. I feel better knowing Lawrence has not forgotten me, and that I am one step closer to making him whole once more. Lavender gets to her feet too, meeting me by the door. She points to the note, laying on my desk. "Here," she says. "Read it quickly. He will be waiting for us by the barbed fences." There is a hint of sadness in her voice as she speaks.

"My lovely wife. You know that I hate that," Lawrence says as we get near him.

"But if you were going to be my husband, I had to call you something else, didn't I?" He smiles, taking my hand in his. "I am so sorry," I say. "But just a small moment without you fills me with an agony that I can hardly endure." I look away from him, knowing he is not there, but knowing that he is. This is my Lawrence, my love, my companion. I can feel him now, as I did when he was alive. I will do anything to have him back. I look to the barbed fences, the place our love first began. I close my eyes. When I open them, he is smiling, but it is not the smile I had expected. It is not the smile I had loved. It is a smile of desperation.


src

Sort:  

Congratulations @marlynthompson! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 250 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation