Letter to my Future Wife

in #story6 years ago

Dear future wife,

I don’t know if you are out here or reading this right now! If you are, please print this letter and bring it to our wedding reception. It will make a good read before your guests and friends.

They say behind every successful man is a woman. I’ll like to say that behind every successful man is a good woman because I’ve seen men that have shut down their businesses because they got involved with the wrong woman. I want to be successful and I need to find you right now more than ever.

You may not know how much I need you but every night before bed i have these stories that I would love to share with someone special. Your slot in my life is so empty it hurts because I know you are out there without me.

I’ve often imagined how you look. Are you dark or fair in complexion or even chocolatey? pure Hausa or borrowed hausa? I play around with different images in my head but one thing stands out, I know you are very curvy and by curvy i mean burst i could careless if you had a smaller backside. i dont joke with my breast, those babies give me chills.

Mum can’t wait to meet you and believe me. Since we are taking about mum, I’ve always prayed for a marriage where mum and my wife would be best friends. I’ll do everything possible to make sure that mum treats you like her daughter. This I promise you.

I still don’t know why I’m writing you but I guess I was motivated by Morell's song “Ganga da garaya” especially in the verse two where he called things that match together “ganga da garaya, taushe da masa, sarki da phada, arewa da gata" i promise to be your ganga if you be my garaya..

No matter where we are, we must speak to each other every day at noon and have lunch once every week when we are in the same city. I know I’m making all these plans without considering you but I’ll be willing to change all or accept any modifications from you even though I pray you love them too.

Is it okay if I tell you certain things about me? I don't hate meat and i also don't like it too, i am not selective when it comes to food but don't give me pounded yam especially with egusi soup, i get bored easily. you will know more about me as they unfold.

Kidan zuciyata(my heartbeat), I don’t know what you don’t like but I’m totally against hairnet and wrapper. I can’t stand both either in the kitchen or in the bedroom. I would have said that the maximum cloth size you are allowed to get to is 10 but that may sound superficial.

I’m from Plateau state, "Ron Tribe" specifically and we take care of our wives. I’ll work hard to make sure you don’t go hungry for one day till your dying day. I’ll let you decide the number of kids we’ll have but I don’t think 4 kids will be bad and together we can make a happy family of six.

It’s 03:13am Sunday December 28th, 2014 and I know you are somewhere out there and it does not matter if you are in another man’s arms, when I do meet you, I promise never to let you go. I promise to take care of you, provide you with all the reasonable good things of life that my money can buy.

I miss you more everyday we are not together, although right now i am far from being ready to get married, i still feel like i can if i was giving the opportunity and the means to. oh i love you so much you have no idea.

please never for once think i am perfect, i am as stubborn as i can be and can be just plain annoying for no reason but you know, these are the things that make me interesting. i would sacrifice everything sacrificial just to put a smile on your face.

Respect, you will get enough.
Love, i will choke you with.
Quarrels, you will get your fair share.
Adore, queen Elizabeth has got nothing on you.
Sweetness, till you have an upset stomach
Value, Gold is a joke.

I look forward to the day I’ll meet you and when I meet you it does not matter where we’ve been to or who we’ve been with, we will give each other clean slates to start life afresh together as one.

PS: Some of the weird words you see there are actually Hausa words. Hausa is a very popular language in Africa.

Don't forget to follow and upvote. Thank you