Renault meets world #1 - Biokovo

in #story6 years ago

PicsArt_01-04-05.54.01.jpg

Hello my dear Steemians!

Today I decided to start my old pal after I spent whole morning under it trying to fix some minor clutch problems.
Long story short, the problem was solved and sky was our limit.
Unlike me, weather was not so enthusiastic...
The original plan was to cruise by dalmatian coast but due to heavy rain we had to cancel.
After 1 hour of brainstorming above the map I went completely nuts and decided to conquer the second highest mountain in Croatia - Biokovo.

Education time:

20180104_185409.jpg

Biokovo is the second highest mountain range in Croatia, located along the Dalmatian coast of the Adriatic Sea, between the rivers of Cetina and Neretva. Its highest peak is Sveti Jure (Saint George), it shows typical karst landscape.

nebi_2017174652.jpg

The 196 km of its area is protected as a nature park with over 1,500 plant and animal species, some of which are endemic.
To aid the hikers, there is the Biokovo Nature Park Visitor Center in downtown Makarska.
However, Biokovo can be perilous if hiking unprepared.

nebi_2017192656.jpg

Tourists erroneously imagine peaks to be closer than they are and, oblivious to the danger, have been known to go hiking wearing flip-flops, without water, wearing shirts with military camouflage patterns making them harder to spot for search and rescue teams.

2017-12-16 05.35.06 1.jpg

We barely came to safe teritory, the fog was so unbearable I had to wipe my windshield every 15 seconds but nevertheless my little beast saved us and we managed to come home safely.
I really hope that next time weather will be little more tourist friendly so that my camera won't be wet at least.

Have a great day!

With love, mechtastic

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.triposo.com/poi/T__99728275bdb8

The @OriginalWorks bot has upvoted and checked this post!
Some similarity seems to be present here:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Biokovo
This is an early BETA version. If you cited this source, then ignore this message! Reply if you feel this is an error.