You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel Diary Story - Hope Brought Me Home

in #story7 years ago

Holy, Tolitto! What a tale! Why weren't there any Taxis on that day for 1?! And 2! I'm so glad you're home and safe for your birthday! Had a similar experience with flying to see my new born baby nephew from two states over. My original flight out of Medford was delayed by two to three hours, and I was supposed to get to my gate at 6:45 but I landed at 6:30. Had to rush get my bag, run over to a staff member to see if I can get a different flight to which she stated that there was nothing she could do until tomorrow morning. Here I am thinking I'm going to have to sleep in this airport in Portland, hoping that no one steals my luggage or attacks me. I called my mother crying letting her know that I probably wouldn't make it and I should just fly back home to Medford and try some other weekend to make it there. But the lady from Alaska Airlines said that she could get me a voucher to a shuttle to and from the airport and a voucher for a hotel for one night and get me on the next flight early in the morning. So I decided to take her up on her offer even though that meant being with my family for no more than 12 hours and have to turn around and fly back to Oregon the next morning. But I'm so glad that I did, and I don't regret anything that happened. It was quite a swift and eventful weekend but i wouldn't have traded it for anything. Family is important and hope will help you find a way to them.

Sort:  

How crazy! Thanks for sharing your similar experience. In that moment you just want to get out of the situation, and afterwards I agree you don't regret it and are actually glad to look back on it. Stay safe! :)