Listening to Real Stories told Live with The Moth Podcasts

in #story6 years ago (edited)

"I dont get a lot of adult contact other than with the checkout ladies at the supermarket"

One thing about living in a small town, in a foreign country with moderate use of the language is that I am lonely, I dont get a lot of adult contact other than with the checkout ladies at the supermarket or with the angry mail lady...and of course my husband. I dont believe that my situation is rare, I think a lot of women and mothers who work/study/stay at home have similar feelings of isolation. 

"I cant read books while I work/clean/cook/garden etc."

The only thing that helps me get through the day without going crazy is constant brain stimulation and learning. These days the UK radio annoys me, popular music is rarely good and the pety mindless babble winds me up. Im a total movie nut and would probably watch movies all day every day if I could find a way to get paid for it. I love movies because they tell a story. I cant read books while I work/clean/cook/garden etc. so I listen to them, on audible usually. I've listened to political podcasts for years and they are very interesting but they aren't emotionally satisfying and get dull after days on end. I finally found a podcast that is like a short book and a movie rolled into one. 

"Its called The Moth and its brilliant." 

It's called The Moth and its brilliant. I've shared a few on Facebook before but after enjoying all my house work today relaxed and unstressed, listening to poetic and engaging stories from unique people from all over the world, i was so moved by these stories I felt it would be wrong of me to keep this awesome podcast a secret from you all a moment longer. Even the host has a soothing voice. So, moms out there who have been secretly lonely at home, you aren't alone and this might help you too...check out The Moth.  You can download the app to your phone, listen on your computer or tablet. You can even download stories to listen when you aren't wifi connected. Enjoy! 

Sort:  

Congratulations @momword! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @momword! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!