You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekly Steem Burn!!!

in #story7 years ago

I don't get it, but I'll comment anyway. This is a good example of some of the flaws of Steemit. Until people use it as a social media platform instead of trying to game the system to make money, widespread adoption won't happen. When I want to view interesting news, content, and other information, I go to Reddit. I want to support Steemit because I want to support blockchain initiatives, particularly those that return value creation to the creator. But the posts in "hot" provide basically no value to me. So as of now, Steemit returns value to the inner circle that wields all the power and can manipulate the platform. Then most of the little guys are just spamming garbage content trying to get lucky or something.

I don't have the solution, but something needs to be done. All of the talk about how traditional social media and networks are subject to manipulation and government involvement, etc. looks a little bit silly when you compare their "front page" to Steemit's "front page". Maybe those sites are censored in some ways. Maybe they are feeding you the information they want you to see. What is Steemit feeding us? Another article about how to get people to follow you so you can make more money on Steemit? As of now, the content manipulators on the other sites want me to see is much more interesting and useful then what is "curated" for me here.

Sort:  

You can see it as a flaw or as a way to earn a small percentage on your investment. Some people let their voting power sit at 100% and never vote, I just see that as kind of a waste. There are good articles on Steem, but sometimes don't have time to read them all, or any during a busy day. Steem is young, but should do well in the long run. I hope you can find a platform that works for you.