You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE BULLY BITES THE DUST

in #story6 years ago (edited)

When I was in elementary, there are lots of kids my age in my neighborhood. We all grew up going to the same grade school and we are all good friends. The year we entered Middle School, everything changed. I'm not sure how I got chosen to be outcasted, but I became the target of every bully in school and everyone I had been friends with throughout my childhood bailed on me. I was bullied he relentlessly until the 10th grade when a boy a year ahead of me took notice and started to stand up for me. Although it didn't help me to make any friends, the bullying did stop. I ended up marrying that boy. I still don't have any friends, but the friends I have are very good friends. I believe that the bullying I experienced when I was young contributed to the social anxiety I have now. But in my day-to-day life I'm surrounded by my good friends and my family who love me, so I guess everything turned out okay.

Sort:  

Wow @powellx5, your story is so touching and sad. I am glad someone stood up for you. Its pretty hard to believe that you once had social anxiety. It seemed non-existent in your manner approach and your audience engagement.

I'm actually writing today about the way I've approached engagement on Steemit. After this particular post, which was excellent by the way, and the day 7 assignment (ugh, I've fallen 3 full days behind, but I'm making up the assignments!!) and a comment from @markrmorrisjr, I've been thinking about being real and sharing about anxiety and down moods.