Thoughts on a deathbed

in #story7 years ago

I remember the times I used to spend with you,
To have them back, oh what would I not do?

The moments that we wanted to last,
had always somehow seemed so short.
'Tis true that only when they've past,
their worth is revealed by that clock.

The very clock that works against life,
and smashes that on which man thrives.

Oh what would I not give, for one more night.
a night that I would spend with you.
To let you know with all my might,
that how much I have loved you.

But those nights are long gone,
and with them so have you.

Soon I will have to part with life too,
and only there's one thing that I rue:
to have been unable to say goodbye,
to may one, true, and only love, you.

I got the idea through a conversation I had with a friend. About how would it feel like to have parted with your significant other without getting the chance to say goodbye. About how absolutely heartbreaking it would be for that person to be on their deathbed. Surely, this must be a pretty big regret that they'd have. They would think that their life would have been perfect if they had just gotten the chance to say their goodbyes. I originally envisioned this to be an old-man on his deathbed, going through his different memories. Finding which ones he cherishes the most and what are his biggest regrets. But it turned out to be something different. As powerful as this idea is, I haven't even gotten close to completely capturing it's essence nor will I ever will. A better poet would certainly nail the idea.

Let me know what you think!![]

Sort:  

Really touching I recently lost my mother and it’s been hard but after reading this it makes me think about how my father is dealing with it and you got to the essence of that I think keep it up and by the way you already are a pretty good poet

I find that relationships continue to grow beyond and past death through dreams and the processing of the time spent. It simply changes.

Wonderful post.