You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ThePlaylist #1 - Bloodline

in #story7 years ago

- @barrister-batman - "Mea culpa, mea culpa, mea maxima culpa!"

Two weeks after voting ends, I just happened to click on your brilliant "NPR contest-winner."

"Ah, NPR," you say. "But here I am on Steemit where my brilliant work earned only ten cents. What is this NPR?"

National Public Radio in America, nonprofit news which (now that I think about it) offers no cash rewards. NPR is the "Steemit" of intellectual snobbery and does not demean itself by awarding actual prize money because its nod of recognition is more than one could ask. (Yes, educated Americans are that dumb, especially the Ivy-Leaguers.)

But, if this post had been an NPR entry in one of its many mini-fiction contests, you would have been the undisputed winner, earning $10,000 SD for subtlety alone. I had to read this twice to understand "what just happened?"

You are razor-sharp, my friend, and I deeply regret not having found this tiny masterpiece in a timely manner. But I have an excuse. I am still wandering through the Steemit woods on my way to grandma's house, hoping by premonition that the big, bad wolf doesn't eat me.