You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Danger Of A Single Story - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

in #story6 years ago

When I read the title I felt interested because of the fact of you sharing something about the topic of stories, I thought from the perspective of music. Her story is amazing, and I am not actually sure about how many people can actually relate with it... For example, she repeating the appearance of the characters in the stories she read. Actually she says she had no necessarily and African identity before being in the U.S. I also write since I was little, but not only when writing kids repeat to fit, as when you remember we used to draw houses. She made me think that having different cultural roots is a factor that possibly makes you not judging necessarily based only in the differences, and what happens is that you see differences but not verbalize them, so it gives you more time to actually see before having an opinion. But she says that stories are important, and sometimes having an early opinion means about our creativity... So...

Very nice listening to her words. Now I want to know some contemporary Nigerian music.

Thanks for this share.

Sort:  

I'm glad you enjoyed it. I shared it because her words held some truth to me. I travel a lot and love to explore different cultures. I have learned from these experiences that my culture where I was born often does not understand other cultures very well and have mistaken ideas about those cultures. It's good to see people in their native environment and it has broadened my perspective on people.

No matter how different we seem from the outside, inside we all have so many similarities. It's good to focus on our commonality as opposed to our differences. This brings us all closer together.