Things we do for love - The story of Gita

in #story6 years ago

Therefore a man shall leave his father and mother and hold fast to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh. So they are no longer two but one flesh. What therefore God has joined together, let not man separate. - Mark 10:7-9 ESV

marriage.jpg

This write up is about the story of my Junior High School mate who got married two weeks ago. He is a friend and a brother because we both bear the same surname. In relationship, some people are of the view that before you marry, one must date for a number of years to know each other very well before committing one’s self into a lifelong vows. Others too are of the view that when you meet your missing rib there is no need “wasting” more time (for want of a better word) if you have the resources.

As it is normally done at wedding ceremonies here in Ghana (I don’t actually know of other places), the bridegroom is called upon to tell the story of how he met his significant other. When David (my mate) was called to tell us how he met his newly wedded wife he made it known to us that they first met at the Kotoka International Airport when he went to see his friend off who was travelling outside the country. This is what he narrated to us;

Erm well, everyone has a story to tell when it comes to meeting one’s significant other. Some meet their’s at church, others in school, at a party, at the bus station, at the grocery store and a whole lot of places. I think where I met this gorgeous woman standing next to me was the plan of the Almighty who brought us together to where we met on that fateful day.

In the first quarter of last year 2017, a very good friend of mine was travelling outside the country to take care of some business and told me to see him off at the airport. Fortunately for me, that was where I met the love of my life. Until that day I thought love at first sight was but a fantasy. I never believed in it until I experienced it myself. My friend had gone through all the check-points and had got on-board leaving me alone by myself.

I decided to take a stroll at the airport and lo and behold I saw a very beautiful lady, in fact a bombshell I should say. Her beauty and demeanour caught my attention so I mustered enough courage and walked towards her. She was fondling with her phone when I approached her and the smile she gave me when I greeted that wonderful woman sent shivers down my spine. OMG! That smile touched and soothed the deepest part of my heart. We exchanged pleasantries and began chatting with her. After some few minutes of interactions, she received a call after which she told me she had to leave because her flight might be taking off soon.

I felt unfortunate because that was when we were enjoying the conversation. Instinctively, I brought out my phone as if I was commanded by a military officer and we exchanged contacts. We have been in touch since then and I must say she is such a wonderful and adorable woman. Her name is G-i-t-a.

IMG-20180123-WA0002.jpg

Gita’s father had something to tell us as well. He greeted and told us how happy he is that her daughter was getting married.

I’m a Liberian, my wife too is a Liberian so we have stayed in Liberian all our lives until 10 years ago when we moved to Australia and have been staying there because of the civil war in my country.

In December last year, my daughter left home without informing me, her mother nor any of her siblings. We called her on phone several times but her phone was switched off. We waited for a day thinking that she had gone to see her friends and thus, she will come back very soon. Another day passed and still there was no sign of her. We called her friends to find out from them if she has been lodging at their place but there was no sign of our daughter. Initially we were not very much alarmed because we thought maybe she had moved back to Liberia to see her uncle because she had once hinted to us that she would want to go and see some of her friends and relatives there.

I then called my brother in Liberia to find out from him if he has seen or heard that Gita, my daughter, has gone back home. He answered in the negative. I became alarmed this time. What has happened to my dear daughter? I asked myself. I put together some few things and flew back to Liberia to search for my daughter with the help of my brother.

Upon deliberate searching and enquiries, we got a hint that my daughter is in Ghana. Without wasting time, my brother and I flew to Ghana. When we got to the embassy we inquired as to whether my daughter is truly in Ghana. It was confirmed to us that she is indeed here and in a city called Takoradi. At that moment I felt relieved but a bit angry. What is she doing here and why did she not tell anyone? I murmured to myself. We came to Takoradi and lodged at a hotel asking around and inquiring about the where about of my daughter.

Finally, we got to know that she is staying with a certain family in a place called BU. With anger, my brother and I went to the house where Gita was staying to take her back home. We got to the house of this beautiful family and the way they received us calmed me down. When we got there, Mr. Eshun, the father of my son-in-law, was the first person we met. I demanded that he should call my daughter for me so that I go with her back home peacefully. He calmly said to me and my brother to kindly enter the living room so that they offer us something, at least water to drink because we look exhausted.

We refused to listen to any of his words at that moment because all that we wanted was for him to call my daughter for us to go where we came from. He insisted and did everything he could to convince us so we entered and had a seat. The way they received and treated us really calmed us down. His wife and other relatives joined us. We had some conversation and they revealed to us that their son, now my son-in-law, wants to marry Gita, my daughter. They apologised for what she had done all in the name of love.

I must say I wasn’t really expecting to hear anything of that sort at that moment. It took time before it could sink down into my head. I needed time to think straight about it. To cut a long story short, we agreed and here we are to witness the union of David and Gita.

IMG-20180124-WA0007.jpg

Class mates with bride and bridegroom



Love can make you do the unthinkable. Because of love Gita travelled all the way from Australia to Ghana without informing any of her relatives. That is what someone can do for love. What can/ will you also do for love?



I wish Mr. and Mrs. Eshun a lifetime of love and happiness. I pray that may the years ahead be filled with lasting joy and blessings. Best wishes on this wonderful journey, as you build your new lives together


Steemit logo.jpg

Sort:  

Steemit all the way.
Great post tnx for sharing I just upvoted.
Check out my new posts if you can plz
upvote resteem comment @gclipse

Thank you. I will check out your post.

I’ll say Gita is crazy for love

Lol. That's what love can make someone do.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This love story is true which makes it real, I enjoyed reading it, have upvoted and resteemed

Yeah it's a real life story and @originalworks. Thank you for stopping by.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sircharles from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Creativity at its best @sircharles

This post has received a 1.90 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @sircharles.

Love is sweet when you are with the right person

Sure, that's very true