THE AGONY OF A HAPPY FAMILY Part 1

in #story7 years ago

image

"Mama, what are you preparing for dinner tonight?" Sol asked.

"Supakanja, I think that's your favourite right?"

"Of course mum, you so dearly know how to make me happy. Wow! I am going to fill my belly to the brim of my throat."

"Really?"

"Yes mum, I have a Science test in the morning and i wouldn't wait for breakfast, so I will chop to my fill.

"Sulayman!" A deep high-pitched voice cut in. "You've a test tomorrow and you're still seated there, how many times do I have to tell you to be serious with your work!" His father stressed. He was perhaps venting his frustration on his poor son. He'd burst into the house earlier complaining of intermittent power outage at his workshop.

"D-d-dad, I-I'm waiting to take dinner, mum is almost done."

His mother caressed his hair as he laid his bulky head on her lap.

"You know i told you a myriad times that you have to secure first position in class, will you spend the rest of your life coming second?" His father pressed harder.

"You've heard him right?", Haddy asked her son appeasingly. "You've to come first in the coming exam, your father would be very happy if you do that, in fact raise your head let me tell you something."

It didn't take a second for Sol to do so.

Now his mother is hissing into his ears, "You father told me he will buy you a bicycle if you come first in class, don't you want th—"

"Haddy it seems I'm smelling the scent of some broiling food". Pa Solo called out.

Haddy dashed into the kitchen to alight the cooking pot from the fireplace.

Only when Pa Solo dipped a spoon into the bowl to pull out his first mouthful of rice did the awful happen again. Alas! It was a blackout. None of the three who sat around the dining table forced out a groan. After all, the darkness was normal. They were already used to it.

image