Five minute freewrite - "Pill"

in #story6 years ago

From https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-64-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-pill


I swallowed.

It hung just at the back of my throat, stuck by phlegm or friction or just plain cussedness.

Gagging a little, I grabbed a drink and slurped some down - and it was done.

Peacefully, I waited for it to take effect. The decision had been made, all the worry was over. Now I just had to wait and find out if I'd made the right decision.

It started with a gentle warmth in the pit of my stomach, quite pleasant. My vision started to waver a little, like watching a reflective screen blowing in a gentle breeze. I was glad I was sitting down. Then again, I always was sitting down, wasn't I?

One quick pinch inside my sternum was washed away with more comforting warmth. That must have been the pill opening up. It wouldn't be long now.

I could feel the unpleasantness starting. I just hoped it'd end. That was always the risk - sometimes they wouldn't stop when we wanted them to. Sometimes they stopped too soon. But there was always unpleasantness.

Great charlie horses formed in my guts as things started moving around. A deep breath and I relaxed into the sensation. Nothing else to do now, just had to ride it out. A shooting pain lanced down the tail of my spine and out along both legs. That was the first I'd felt anything there since the accident.

(time)

Sort:  

Hi @someoneusual! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.03 SBD @tipU from @whatisnew :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

I really liked this and the ending was great; not what I expected. Tip!

Wow - thank you - glad you liked it!

this was GREAT!!!! just great and the ending was !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Why thank'ee kindly! Glad you appreciated it!

Wow! What a hook with the time ending there.

I knew I wouldn't get as far as I wanted to - but at least it still tells a story....

That was great!! And if you have time - you can always keep going :) Lot's of the freewriters do....
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-66-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-toilet

chuckle I'll try, but with everything else on the plate, sometimes all the 'creative' time I get is taken up by 5 minute freewrites! Not a complaint - sometimes making the time for them makes a difference....