Short Story - The Monks' Brew (Part 3)

in #story7 years ago

Colibri.jpg

Read Part 1 and Part 2 - Enjoy!

The Dream of the Humminbird

The car came to a smooth halt right in front of my doorstep. For the last five minutes I was in total silence, gazing through the window and watching the slow drizzle appear under the passing street lights. My mind was trying to crunch down all the bizarre and incredible information it took in one short conversation but couldn’t make any sense of it. Overwhelmed, I was going to step out without a word or a glance back at my mysterious ride. I opened the door and put my first foot down but she grabbed my arm with her hand.

“Do not try to understand it all Mr. Stark. It’s too much to take in one night so I recommend that you go and have a good rest. It will get clearer in the morning. I know you will make the right decision when the time comes. For now you just need to trust me. I will make sure to have people keep an eye out for your regarding the order of the Levantine arch but stay alert and keep safe. I warned you about the perils. I will get in touch. Have a good night.”

I tried to keep a clear head and take the stranger’s advice to rest and get some sleep. The first two hours were out of the question. My mind was breaking into splinters of thought at an insane rate. Concerns about my life weren’t surprisingly the most prominent ones. It was more about trying to put the pieces together. That cynical part of my mind was battling it out with that part which was awestruck and in wonder about the whole incredible story. “What if it’s all true?”, I was thinking. “Is there really such an intricate backstory to this whole deal with monk’s brew? There must be some truth in it otherwise why all these mysterious people hanging around this odd town trying to get their hands on something so seemingly uninteresting.”

“What will happen if I double deal those bastards who have been threatening me lately? It’s a sure death but who said they would not get rid of me after the deed is done anyway?”

One thought gave way to the next and the next one after that until at one point it just all caved in and I drifted into sleep. I had what probably was the most vivid, intense and life-like dream I ever had in my life. I was beside a river in a town or place I couldn’t recognise. There was a hummingbird still in mid-air near a tree where I was sitting, fluttering its wings at incredible speeds. Its colours were strikingly radiant and intense. I am watching its beauty in awe when all of a sudden my perception shifted totally. There is a strong vibration that I am feeling all around me. I am actually part of that vibration. It seems like the moving wings and the colours of the hummingbird are emanating that vibration but I am also part of it. The hummingbird is also me. Everything is so stark and real. I blend into the vivid green, blue, violet and orange colours and I am seeing the hummingbird's stillness and its high speed flutter at the same time in very sharp focus. I hear a voice saying “Everything is light and sound. Everything is vibration. Let go of your mind and you shall see”.

The voice was like coming from everywhere. From every direction outside of me and inside of me. I didn’t know what it meant but I replied “OK show me”. All of a sudden my vision gets warped and I am catapulted at high speed through the rainbow colours of the hummingbird. The speed felt excruciating. I feel that tonnes and tonnes of information are being squeezed in my mind in fractions of a second. I am flabbergasted by all this. I am seeing thousands of images and symbols all at once.

Then it all slows down and I see two ribbons of light spiraling on each other forming like a spiral staircase in the sky. It was huge. At the bottom end of the spiralling ribbons there was like golden liquid light pouring down into a chalice. As I focused on the chalice the spirals turn into a fire bird with its head pointing downwards and the chalice and its wing tips pointing backwards and upwards. It was as if it was diving into the chalice perpetually. The light was too intense. I am in awe, in bliss and shit scared at the same time. Two hands come out of nowhere and grab the chalice. A figure appears like some hooded monk takes the cup and drinks from it. As it is laying the chalice back it looks in my eyes and I see an orange glow emanating. I am frozen and cannot move. I see a lot of strange symbols like an ancient language shooting at me at incredible speeds. I do not understand any of it. The orange glow in his eyes turn into blazing two suns. One is a bright and full. The other is only glimmering bright light on the outside but is dark and empty on the inside. It felt like a hole into oblivion. I hear a voice again. It said “choose your path wisely.”

Out of nowhere a tall figure with strange glyphs all over its skin walks towards me very rapidly. I can’t see its face. It puts its hand on my forehead and I feel like a surge of warmth and cold all over me at the same time. The image dissolves into a million pieces and the next thing I remember is that I am sitting on my bed gasping for air and with my heart pounding so fast that I felt it coming out of my throat.

I sat there for a while. I am still shaking. The next thing I do is grab my watch from the bedside table and try to squint my eyes to see the time in the faint moonlight streaming in the half closed window curtains. It read four o’ clock.

Read Part 1 and Part 2 - Enjoy!

Steemit Post Footer.png

Sort:  

indah sekali..!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by soulhiker from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.