My Trip To Tombstone PHOTOGRAPHY and Story

in #story6 years ago (edited)

My husband @rwedegis, did a fantastic review of our trip to the old West town of Tombstone, but, those are his thoughts. I'm finding it a bit difficult to "keep up" when we are going to the same place and writing about the same things but since my word for the year is "POWERFUL", I can't just sit back.
So....Welcome to Tombstone.

IMG_6295.JPG

When I was a young girl I wanted to be a cowgirl. I probably said "cowboy", not being politically correct back then, and my Dad and I watched every western we could find on TV. He was a western fanatic, books, tv, but never got here. I guess this trip is my tribute to him. I even got a whole outfit when I had my tonsils out. I was so excited and then, the first day I wore my new boots, I twisted my ankle and the boots went out into the trash. (I now have two great pairs that I love)

Our neighborhood was mainly boys and we played cowboys and Indians up on what was called "The Ledge". Back then Boston had a lot of farmland and were we lived had once been. A side note, I always chose to be an Indian!

Our first stop heading to town was at the Boothill Cemetary. I never really thought about that name until I started reading the head markers. They are made of old wood and just an inscription of the name of the fellow, if they knew, and the cause of death. It wasn't about the cause but that they all died with their boots on. (Another aside note, there are quite a few Boot hill sites across the Old West. ) Wow, these guys were crazy with one man, Tom Waters, being shot and killed because the other guy didn't like the color of his shirt. (Someone had to have gotten up on the wrong side of bed that day)

IMG_6284.JPG

IMG_6283.JPG

Suicides seemed to be common place, not only women, (I can't even imagine what it must have been like for them) but for men. If a woman was married, her husband would have been gone for long periods of time working in the mine leaving her to deal with Indians if she lived away from town, and crazed men if she lived in town.

IMG_6296.JPG

The most popular place in town was, from what I gather, the Bird Cage. An entertainment center that still stands today complete with rooms, poker tables, stage and dust. The area above the buffalo head were the "cribs" the working girls used for their clients that they charged $25.00 an hour. Now, just think. $25.00 an hour right now is not that expensive but think back into the 1800's and then you realize that $25.00 was huge. The stair case that lead up to the balcony is still there and blocked off but the top few stairs are worn down almost to the breaking point. Ahh those miners and criminals. It was open 24/7 and held poker games in the basement that had one going for 8 years straight and cost the person 1 thousand dollars to just enter. Many famous names of the day played in that game.

C9729864-1E02-477F-9867-0C2E296CF308-1622-0000012B831AFB7C.jpeg

Image from the internet

Being an artist I was naturally enthralled with the large portrait hanging on the side wall by the staircase. It's of Fatima or later called, "Little Egypt". Painted as a gift and sent to the Gilded Cage it became quite an interesting piece to the drunken miners and outlaws that frequented the establishment. You can still see the bullet holes made by a gunman probably aiming at another guy but surely missing. Ah that alcohol!

IMG_6297 (3).JPG

IMG_6297 (2).JPG

And then the night one guy thought Little Egypt was moving towards him and he shot at the canvas leaving yet another bullet hole.

IMG_6297 (1).JPG

Then the great story of how they think a man thought she needed a new belly button.

IMG_6297 (4).JPG

After leaving there we walked along the board sidewalks as Imagined myself thrown back in time and seeing Virgil Earp keeping an eye on the town and watching for outlaws that may come in.

IMG_6308.JPG

I'll take the stage coach and leave before trouble starts.

IMG_6307.JPG

IMG_6306.JPG

It takes you around the small city and you hear the different homes that people lived in that were there back in that time frame when the city was booming. Then as I arrived back...

IMG_6310.JPG

Trouble must be a-brewing. There's Morgan, Virgil and Wyatt Earp along with Doc Holiday heading down towards the OK Corral . We better get down there and check it out.

IMG_6288.JPG

Well, Virgil, Morgan and Doc were shot and wounded but the McLaury Brothers and Billy Clanton were killed while Ike Clanton ran away. What an event!!

Time to get some vitals as I hear my tummy rumblin'..

IMG_6294.JPG

Once called the Bucket Of Blood Saloon it is now The Longhorn Saloon. Had a great Angus beef cheese burger and started coming back to this century after traveling back in time and what a trip it was. I know we did miss a few other things in Tombstone so we may go back..maybe I'll be an Indian next time.

Warmly,
Sheila

Photographs except one labeled internet are my @originalworks

Photographs except one labeled internet are my @originalworks

And hoping @trufflepig sees my blog!

Sort:  

Nice job @swedegis! You covered everything that I missed!

Thanks!! ;-)

This is excellent Sheila (and don't tell Roger, but I haven't read his post yet...LOL). Your photography is wonderful, and I really got a sense of the place - both current day, and ghosts from the past. Nicely done, and thanks for the tour! Oh, and since my VP is so small, instead here's a - tip!

Thanks Traci. I was hoping for orbs in the Gilded Cage. They say they are frequent. Maybe if we went at night. I want to go back, something keeps drawing me there. lol and I won't tell Roger. lol

That would've been wicked cool - I'll keep my fingers crossed for you that you capture some on film (so to speak - LOL). And thanks for not spilling my secret... 😊

LOL...and thanks.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=swedegis
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-trip-to-tombstone-photography-and-story


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

thank you

Hi @swedegis! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @traciyork!

You can now delegate SP / invest in @tipU for daily profit:) Click here to learn more :)