The Other Side of the Story...

in #story6 years ago

This is a play, please use your imaginations & let me know what you think of it?

1st. Act

The play is set in America, Pennsylvania. The scene opens up in a house in a big darkened room.
A women (Andrea) wearing a knee length dress paces the floor in the room.
Andrea (in a soft voice)
Oh my God, you can’t expect me to do this. I cannot take it anymore; I have to get out of this, I don't think I can go through this anymore.
Pause
I have tried, I have...I seriously have tried...but you don't understand, this time it is different. I don't know, I don't know...
Pause
I don't know what happen, I honestly don't know what happen...I have thought about it and I have tried to change it, and I have tried to go through it...but I think...

A man (Ashcroft) enters the scene. It’s too dark to see Ashcroft’s face or Andrea’s expression, however their silhouette visibly shows Ashcroft standing firm.
Andrea has stopped pacing the floor and her silhouette shows her almost cowering.
Andrea; Ashcroft

Ashcroft;
What were you muttering darling?

Silence...

Oh? Did you not hear me honey? I asked you what were you muttering?

Andrea; N...nothing....

Silence - several seconds

I was j...just counting the...the hours

Silence....

Ashcroft slowly inches towards Andrea

Andrea; I promise I wasn’t saying anything

In one swift movement Ashcroft closes the gap between the women and him and takes her in his arms. Andrea stiffens in his arms.
Ashcroft (chuckling cheerfully)
Why do you sound scared of me Andre? You know I would never do anything to harm you. You know how much I love you, right?
Andrea relaxes in his arms.

Andrea; I know you love me.

Ashcroft (in almost a whisper)
Then why lie to me?
He pushes Andrea away from him; stunned she falls to the floor. Ashcroft switches the room light on besides him and the light shows the fear on Andrea’s face as a mobile phone falls to the ground from her pocket.
Ashcroft in a raised voice
Why lie to me? You weren’t counting hours were you? What kind of an imbecile counts the hours to the day anyway? So tell me what was it that you were muttering? Or rather should that be who were you muttering to?
He starts walking towards her.

Screen blacks out
2nd Act

A few months in the future. The setting is in a family courtroom. It is obvious that the court has been in session for quite some time as it opens into scene. Ashcroft is sitting looking down at the ground. A big screen is being wheeled away. A young female judge looks up from the papers in front of her.

Judge;
“This has been a simple and yet a complicated trail. Miss Andrea is terrified of facing you Mr Ashcroft to the point where she has not been able to attend court in person. We have watched her recording, heard from expert witnesses and have also heard your side. I find in favor of the plaintiff. What you have done to her goes against human nature Mr Ashcroft and if laws could be changed I would gladly put you away for life. But as it stand I award the plaintiff 80 percent of your businesses profit for the two years you have been married, with an added fifty five thousand in damages. You are hereby ordered to pay full court fees for both sides, a restraining order has been placed and the divorce takes effect from this moment onward. This court is adjourned.”

Ashcroft’s lawyer stands up as if in protest, Ashcroft remains sitting down, still looking down at the ground. Andrea’s lawyer’s stand up gleefully as they prepare to pack away their belonging. The judge is already exiting as the scene slowly dims away.

Screen blacks out
3rd Act

The scene is set 2 years and 2 months into the past. A younger looking, fringed Andrea is sitting in a cafe with a slightly clumsier looking Ashcroft in front of her. The scene opens to a hushed conversation between the two and then slowly gets louder.

Ashcroft;
So do you see...do you understand from my point?”

Andrea;
Sweetheart I love you enough that your past does not bother me. You might have been married previously and might not have been, but that is none of my concern. I love you and that is enough for me. If I am enough for you then I don't see what is there to stop us.”

Ashcroft ;
No...of course not...

Andrea; I do and it is enough for me, your love...I am...I am just saying it for you sweetheart..

Ashcroft ; ye...we have only just met, there is not much you know about me or...

Andrea;
I might not know everything about you, but I do know enough about you to know that I don't wish to lose you ever...

Ashcroft;
I, uh...Andrea, I haven’t dated in nearly six and half years, I don't even know if I can still...I don't want to be the cause of any misery for you...you uh, do see what I mean...

Andrea in a confident voice
You are the most perfect person ever Ashcroft and I don't wish to lose you even for a second. But if you feel that way then I’d rather (voice becomes less confident and quavers slightly)...you know Ashcroft, when you find the person with whom you wish to spend the rest of your life with, you can’t wait to begin the rest of your life. I have never felt like this for anyone and have never wished to marry before until you...but if I am not your perfect person then... (She breaks off in half a sob)
Ashcroft jumps to her side and takes hold of her hand
What are you saying? You are the perfect person for me...when you first smiled at me I couldn’t believe it. I was uh...I was shocked that someone like you would want to even look at me let alone smile and now this, Andrea I cannot wait till we are married
Andrea in an almost breathless voice
Oh Ash, that is what I love about you, you don't realise how special and sweet you are, oh sweetheart, I am so happy (she embraces him) I cannot wait till next week when I will be Mrs Ashcroft...

Screen blacks out
Act 4

Back to the first scene
He starts walking towards her. Andrea lying crawled on the floor starts shaking her head. Ashcroft reaches her and bends down to the floor next to her. He takes grasp of both her arms and shakes her vigorously.
Ashcroft (in a stern loud whisper)
Tell me Andrea, tell me where I lacked. Tell me who you were talking to, tell me, say something...

Andrea;
Please don't, please don't.

Ashcroft continues shaking her vigorously and muttering, tears roll down his eyes.
You destroyed it all, it was you, you don't deserve to live, you did it...
Andrea, with a kick manages to throw Ashcroft off of her. She ran’s towards the door, trips on to the lamp and then darkness and silence follows.
The silence lasts for approx 4 seconds and then there is a blood curdling scream from Andrea and a lot of scrambling. As the light comes back on the police are on the scene, Andrea is covered in blood with a knife lying next to her. Ashcroft is in the same position as he was when the lights went out, looking somewhat bewildered.

Andrea (screaming and pointing at Ashcroft)
He attacked me, he tried to kill me, help me, help me, help...

Screen blacks out
Act 5

Scene opens to Andrea and Ashcroft in their dining room. It is early morning; Ashcroft is eating breakfast and Andrea is serving it. The scene takes place three weeks in the past.
Andrea joins Ashcroft on the table.

Ash, I want to tell you something?
Ashcroft (eating)
Hmm h?

Andrea;
Ash stop eating for a second...please
Ashcroft immediately stops eating and looks at her with concern

Ashcroft;
Sweetheart...

Andrea;
What I am about to tell you...

She stops and takes his hands in hers
Ash, you have to...(pause)...you mustn’t...(pause)...I...I need to tell you something and...(pause)...you have to...

Ashcroft;
What is it sweetheart? You can tell me anything, you know...

There’s silence for five long seconds as Andrea stares into Ashcroft’s eyes. She closes her eyes and looks down. As she looks back up she has a sad smile on her face, she shakes her head

Andrea;
I just wanted to tell you that...that I really, really love you Ash...I don't know how, I don't know when, but I do...I really love you Ash...I really...
Ashcroft looks taken aback for a second

Ashcroft;
I don't understand sweetheart, of course you love me. I know that already. I love you too, you know that as well.
What is it that you were going to tell me?

Andrea;
Nothing...nothing else. I just realised that...I...I haven’t told you how much I love you for a long time. I just had to remind you... (She exhales slowly)

Ashcroft;
You had me scared for a second there. (He laughs) For a second I thought you were going to tell me of a secret lover who has popped up on to the scene...
Andrea stiffens slightly. She stands up and slowly walks to the sink.
Ashcroft continues laughing gently as the scene slowly blacks out

Screen blacks out
Act 6

Scene opens up to a week into the past with Ashcroft in a suit sitting next to another man in a suit. The setting is in a park. The two men’s are sitting on a park bench staring ahead.

The other man in a suit;
Mr Ashcroft usually it is not my job to say anything, but as you love your wife so much I would like to take this opportunity to tell you that sometimes it is better to ignore things in life, things that are on the way to being sorted...

Ashcroft in a somber tone
If it is not your job to say anything then I would rather you did not say anything!
The man stops and looks slightly taken aback. He shakes his head slightly as if coming out of a trance
Very well then; I apologize. You were right in thinking that your wife has been having an affair. Unfortunately this affair has been in the making for a very long time and I am afraid to tell you that it began long before your wife met you.
Ashcroft closes his eyes. The man continues
But this story is deeper than you think. (The man pauses dramatically for 3 seconds) Mr Ashcroft, it is with great regret that I have to tell you that your wife has been married and divorced to four other guys from four different states...
The man’s voice turns to soft murmur as Ashcroft still remains seated with his eyes closed. The scene slowly blacks out.

Screen blacks out
Act 7 (last scene in the play)

27 months in the past. In a confined space, slightly dark there is a man in a long overcoat, the audience are unable to see his facial features properly. Andrea is also there but the audience are also unable to see her face properly. She is only distinguishable from her voice.

Andrea;
You promised, you promised this will be it, you promised I won’t have to do it again, you said that the last guy was the last guy, you promised that he...
Man
Shh...
Pulls Andrea into his arms
Shhh

Andrea;
You said...

Man;
I never promised Andrea. I said we shall see, and as far as I can see we need this catch one more time.

Andrea;
But I don't want to....I don't want to go through it again.
She pulls away from him and walks away.
I don't see why I have to...I refuse to play this game anymore. We already have what we want, we have more than what we want, we don't need this...don’t you see...
The man walks up to Andrea and grabs her. He shakes her slightly but vigorously.

Man;
Andrea, get a hold of yourself, you owe me this

Andrea (tearfully)
I don't owe you anything...

Man;
Ha...you owe me a lifetime. Do you not remember the hell hole that I dragged you from? Have you forgotten where you have come from, where I brought you from? Do you want to go back to that place again, do you?
Andrea (breaks into tears)
I...
Man takes Andrea back into his arms

Man:
Oh baby no, no, no shhh...I wouldn’t do that, I would never put you back...oh you know I would never do that to you. I’m sorry okay. Look after this one I promise it would be over. Once we’ve pulled this one off we go retirement.
Andrea continues crying..

Man;
You know I would never do anything to hurt you. You know I am doing this for the both of us...it is the both of us together forever...and then after this it will be over...

A small pause...

Andrea; Promise?
Man;
I promise you sweetheart. This is it.

A slightly longer pause...

Andrea;
I shall see you when this is over then.
She sigh’s heavily

Man; 27 months to be exact

Andrea;
27 months it is and then it will be over and I never have to do it again, I never have to marry another guy again, and I never have to...
The man puts a finger to her lips

Man; shhh
They both kiss passionately which the audience see for 4 seconds and then the screen slowly blacks out.

The End

Sort:  

Congratulations @the-chronicler! You received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @the-chronicler! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!