That is why you SHOULD NOT trade crypto on Bter.com.. Ever!

in #story7 years ago (edited)

bter_logo.png

As a new crypto currency trader, i am always looking for ways to earn as much as possible from buying and selling altcoins on different exchanges. I have been trading on different platforms with no issues till i decided to give Bter.com a try and that is how my nightmare began!.

At first I noticed altcoins prices are a bit high on Bter.com so i thought of buying some DOGE coins from Yobit at a price of 37 SAT and then selling them for 44 SAT on Bter.com exchange so i would make a profit of 7 SAT/DOGE.

I invested around 0.047 BTC to buy around 65K of DOGE coins from Yobit then i transferred them to my Bter.com account. And Yes! I sold them for 44 and 43 SAT. I felt so happy that i could make a good profit in less than 5 minutes BUT when i decided to withdraw my BTC balance i got an error -->"BTC Withdrawal is disabled" with some other Chinese words.
Capture

So i was like WTF?!.

I emailed Bter.com support and waited for around 48 hours and reply!. So i decided to check the chat box at Bter.com and there i was advised to trade my BTC for XMR or XEM and then withdraw them and so i did buy them for a higher cost. Yet when i tried to withdraw my balance i got another error and another pop up to contact support.

Then i realized transferring any altcoins Bter exchange would require a manual approval from Bter.com staff which is not a proper way to run an exchange service. I would advice everyone not to repeat my mistake and to stay away from Bter.com as i ended up losing some BTC there.

Sort:  

Sometimes things are to good to be true. I've had to open up a ticket (or whatever you call it) on eBay once this month and suspect will have to do something similar on Amazon (from buying things that are too well priced to be true - though trusting eBay and Amazon to get my back). Thanks for the info.

Thank you for your comment.

Congratulations @thecryptoguy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!