Mr. George's Little Secret : Solve the Mystery

in #story6 years ago (edited)

It was a cold day for me, so I rather make some progress while laying in bed and come up with an idea on making a short story. Here it goes...

I lived in this quiet little town for almost a decade now and I've never experienced something so baffling and weird. Well, not until Mr. George moved in next door. The first week he was here, he already got along with everyone, myself included. He was an intellectual and knows how to draw in a crowd. We all adored Mr. George, and we adored his roast beef recipe even more.

Everything were fine.

On the 23rd of the month, however, a tall, young man driving a red Cadillac visited my neighbor. I was watering my dandelions when the handsome guy knocked on his door. He was probably in his twenties. He had blonde hair and deep blue eyes, he had the posture and demeanor of someone in the military.

Right after greeting his visitor, my neighbor came rushing to me, asking to borrow a few things. A meter of rope, an empty plastic bottle and a hardbound Carolyn Keene book. I was confused as to the purpose of the things asked by dear Mr. George but I let him borrow nonetheless.

Into the wee hours of the night, around 11 o'clock, I went outside to pick up some papers I left in my car. From my porch, I heard noises coming from my neighbor's abode. Loud groans and scratches, like a wild animal was trapped inside. It was like that for a few seconds and then it stopped. It was quiet. I was confused but I let it go and went back inside.

The next morning, my neighbor returned the rope, plastic bottle and book he borrowed from yesterday. I was itching to ask what happened the night before but I thought it's better to be silent about it. So, I accepted the things with a smile and he went on his way.

A month has passed. It was the 23rd day and I saw the same young man from before in his red Cadillac. My neighbor, like he did the previous month, greeted the man, invited him inside his house then came running to me. He, once again, borrowed a meter of rope, an empty plastic bottle and a hardbound book. Baffled once again, I handed him the stuff he needed. With a thank you and a wide smile, he jogged towards his home.

Later that night, I heard loud groans and screams and lots of scratching. It was louder than before. I was already feeling scared. I wanted to call the cops but then the noises stopped. I didn't want to pry on my neighbor's privacy so I just went to bed. The next morning, Mr. George gleefully returned the stuff he borrowed, as if nothing bizarre happened last night.

On the 23rd of each month for the next five months, the same thing happens. The strange young man would visit, my neighbor would borrow stuff from me, night would come and noises would fill the house, then everything goes to normal the next day. My curiosity was killing me. I had to know what's going on.

Morning came and Mr. George was carrying the stuff he borrowed from me. Building up the courage, I asked him what was going on. I was afraid he'd be insulted at my query but he wasn't. Instead, he smiled at me and motioned me to come closer.

"I'm going to tell you what happens every 23rd of the month but you have to promise that you will not tell a single soul about this. It is important that you keep this as a secret." I vowed, telling him that whatever the truth is, I shall bring it with me to the grave.
He came closer, cupped his mouth with his hands and whispered to my ears.

 " I kept my promise and up to this day, I never told anyone that secret"

So that's a wrap.


If you happen to reach until the end of this post, I sincerely thank you for sharing your time on reading. If you have some concerns and thoughts about this please do not hesitate to leave a comment and I will surely be glad to respond :)


Join our discord channel and be a part of our growing community where people around the world are dynamic and oh so friendly! @dynamicsteemians

Sort:  

Oh my God...this is really bad. Whats the 23rd event now, i am so curious right now.

There is a clue in the story itself. Come find it HEHEHE evil laugh*

Haha I really want to know too what that secret was all about every 23rd Day of the month. Great story but I want an ending :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by thonnavares being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.