How I got rid of the benzodiazepines (A story of detoxification)

in #story6 years ago (edited)

How I got rid of the benzodiazepines

There is a period of my life

when I was dead in life, a dark period in which for 7 years I was unable to connect with the reality that surrounds the rest of human beings. During that period I was suffering from a condition called panic attacks and although much has been said biologically about this misnamed disease, the reality is that science does not have a definitive answer to this evil that afflicts thousands of people on the planet but fortunately I was able to overcome.

At first when I started to suffer from this condition I thought the answer was in medication after all the doctor had told me that it was a chemical unbalance in my brain that could be controlled with pills. For 7 years I was taking a mixture of clonazepam + prozac but these pills instead of making me feel better increased the negative feelings and thoughts I had at that time.

But the doctor couldn't understand what happened to me after all he didn't live inside my head so his only answer was to increase the dose of pills what made me feel even worse, I remember that my girlfriend of that time asked me one day what I felt for her and literally said "Because of these medications I feel like if you get hit by a car I won't cry I just don't feel anything".

Surfing the Internet I got a very complete study on the adverse effects of taking these drugs for a long time, which made me understand that I was suffering from a "paradoxical effect", that is, the pills had increased my suffering instead of calming it.

I'll leave a link in case anyone would be interested in reading the detox manual.

"https://www.benzo.org.uk/manual/index.htm"

It turns out that taking these medications for a long time is harmful to the mind and body and it's the same story for antidepressants, I can tell you for example that during those 7 years I had suicidal thoughts every day and after I stopped taking Prozac those thoughts stopped, I can also tell you that the permanent tremors in all the extremities of my body and the extreme nervousness disappeared when I stopped taking clonazepam but the process was very long it took me more than 1 year and 8 months to get everything out of my system.

Vipassana

The answer to overcome the panic attacks was not in medication but in understanding the depths of my mind and for that I used a meditation technique called Vipassana which was the definitive answer to overcome anxiety, depression and recover my life.

Sort:  

its very helpful post
thanks for share this

Glad you liked it

I am on Clonazapam but I am grateful. It helps my OCD and Panic Disorder. I concede it could be over prescribed by certain doctors.

I try to stay away from all medication first because I manage to overcome my disorder and second because the risks are too high