My Reoccurring Nightmare

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Cracked door.jpg

Deep in my REM Cycle, I begin to dream. I’m laying in my bed, covers up to my shoulders; I can smell the fresh scent of laundry detergent. I am warm and cozy. Its pitch black, nothing but the hum of the air conditioner and the choir from the crickets outside, could be heard. Suddenly, my door creaks open and light from the hall pours into one corner of my room. I rolled over to block the light out.

I begin to feel the side of my bed dip down as if someone had sat next to me, but who was it? I felt a hand touch my shoulder and my eyes sprang open, my heart started racing as my fear grew. The mysterious person started to pull the covers down off my body and I thought if I pretended to be asleep, they would leave. I was sorely mistaken. I tried to nudge them away, but this person or monster didn’t seem to care. More weight began to dip the side of my bed, I could feel the warmth of their breath against on my ear. “You are a worthless child,” he whispered, and I knew who it was. My step father was sitting next to me but why was he in here? Is he drunk?

His hands began to wander over the parts of my body that were uncovered by the sheets. I began to tear up; I didn’t know what to do. He grabbed my hand and put it on his private area and told me to grab it, tears began to cascade down my cheeks. My insides were screaming, at 10 years old how is anyone supposed to know what is going on. I wanted my mom. I wanted help.

Something moved outside the door, startled he got up and left. I cradled myself and cried till the light of dawn broke through my blinds. The next morning, after he left, I asked my mother what being raped was. She told me not to worry because nothing like that would ever happen to me.