The Hike: My Journey to the Peak

in #story6 years ago (edited)

received_1616836301697343-01.jpeg

They say to START THE YEAR RIGHT and yes I actually did about two weeks ago.

It was my first hike this year and my sister along with few of her friends planned on a weekend dayhike somewhere in Tanay, Rizal.

· · ─────── ·𖥸· ─────── · ·

Hiking has always been a popular outdoor and weekend activities most especially nowadays. But have you ever asked yourself what is the difference between hiking and trekking?

According to a source, monkeyandmountains.com

Hiking is a leisure activity done by walking in either a man-made roads and well-made trails, on the other hand Trekking involves rigorous and challenging trails which tests one's physical ability and endurance. They also differ with the distance and difficulty level though both involves physical movement and mainly walking.

Well in my case I wasn't prepared PHYSICALLY .I never jogged or exercise religiously like others and I never lifted anything heavier than my bag.

The last hike Ive been to was a year ago and my memories of that day was still vividly clear in my head. So I knew the feeling of wanted to back out or asking "Are we there yet?" or "How near are we?" But once you reach the top, the feeling was rewarding!

· · ─────── ·𖥸· ─────── · ·

cursive-fonts

I was out of shape yet I still pushed myself to go. We woke up around 4am and prepared everything we need. I had no idea how difficult the hike to Mt. Daraitan nevertheless if not physically prepared I should atleast set my mind and spirit for some challenges.

Im not a pro to hiking but from previous experiences these are the things I kept in mind.

1. Bring what you can only carry.

Like I said Im not fit like others but since Im game to any hiking experience I should be mindful of the important things I only needed to bring depends on the difficulty of the hike. I always bring with me a micro fiber towel for its super light weight and easily absorbed also some snacks and extra light clothes.
Once youve packed everything in your bag, try to assess, from there you should know if its not too burden to carry.

2. Wear hiking gear

I always wear a thin shirt and a short with leggings inside to protect myself from scratch and dirt. Do invest in good pair of hiking shoes too! 😉

3. Trail etiquette "LNT"

We are all familiar with the outdoor ethics of "Leave No Trace" principle. It starts with us, as courtesy to other hikers it is important that we do not litter and caused damage to our mother nature.

However, things didnt go well as planned because we are supposed to hike Mt. Daraitan but due to heavy rain I had to call the Brgy.office of Daraitan to get updates. They told us that their office is open but they can't promise us that hike to Mt. Daraitan is possible. How sad 😞

· · ─────── ·𖥸· ─────── · ·

cursive-fonts

We are unstoppable! Rain or shine go for plan B. Instead of going home and call it a next time, all agreed to visit Tinipak Cave which is also located in Brgy. Daraitan.

From Tanay terminal there are tricycles that offers a ride to Brgy. Daraitan for 500 pesos which can accommodate 5 persons. We already left past 8 am and rent two tricycles since there are 8 of us.

It was a long ride and rain was pouring continuously, I was already hugging my bag close to me to protect myself from drizzles and wind but still no luck.

In the middle of ride, worst thing happened when I suddenly felt the need to Pee! It will take another 1 hour to arrived at the the Barangay office.
So I begged to Kuya Driver if he can find some houses where I can use the restroom. It was a bumpy ride and I alone is struggling already...

Good thing there was a store along the road and the middle aged lady was very kind to let us use the restroom for free. Hallelujah! I was relieved.
PicsArt_02-04-12.00.41.jpg
After a little while we left and it was another 30 minutes of bumpy ride.

In order to reach the Barangay we either cross the wooden bridge or ride the boat but due to rain, we cannot use the bridge. Instead we rode the boat which only cost us 5 pesos each.
PicsArt_02-04-12.12.14.jpg
Surprisingly, their boat can carry a single Tricycle!

PicsArt_02-04-06.20.35.jpg
We arrived at the Brgy. for registration, payment and proper briefing. It is required to have one tour guide for a minimum of 5 persons for safety reasons and to properly managed the group.

PicsArt_02-04-01.04.11.jpg

· · ─────── ·𖥸· ─────── · ·

The brother Mountain

Since Mt. Daraitan was impossible we opted for Mt. Mamara. They allow us to hike there since it will only take us around 1 hr 30 mins to get to its peak depending on our phase.

Mt. Mamara was recently opened to give way to those who cannot beat the hike to Daraitan. Only a number of hikers are allowed to Mt. Daraitan so if your group did not make it to the count then you have the option to hike on its mountain brother, the Mt. Mamara. The trail there was mostly uphill and steep.

· · ─────── ·𖥸· ─────── · ·

The Hike

As our journey begins we all keep our positive vibes and high hopes of a great hiking experience despite the gloomy weather.

We start the walk past 10 am though ideally its not a good time to start a hike. We passed by a small cemetery and resident houses then after a few more minutes we stopped by to get a view of the Tinipak river. The flowing river was brownish due to heavy rain but in some areas the water is crystal clear.

P_20180127_105720_vHDR_On-01.jpeg

There were boulders and limestones as we go along and at some point you have no choice but to dive your feet to the river in order to crossed.

PicsArt_02-04-02.53.57.jpg

PicsArt_02-04-03.01.21.jpg

After a few challenging walks we arrived at Tinipak Camping Ground. There were stores open and plenty of restrooms for tourists to used. We paid 20 pesos for another registration as we have crossed the boundary and entered General Nakar, Quezon. It was already a long walk but our clothes were already wet from rain so from the site we stayed for awhile to securely placed our dry clothes in plastic bags.

We left the campsite and pass thru the man-made wooden ladders.
PicsArt_02-04-01.22.04.jpg

As we approached the starting point of the mountain, were able to enjoy more of the scenic view of the river and Tinipak wall.

PicsArt_02-04-01.00.27.jpg

The steps are starting to get difficult. We then reach the long wooden bridge that leads to the assault to Mt. Mamara and the Tinipak Cave.

received_10213237312401169-01.jpeg

We enjoyed the view of another large rock formations and heavy flow of the tinipak river.

P_20180127_154256_vHDR_On-01.jpeg

· · ─────── ·𖥸· ─────── · ·

The Peak

The assault becomes difficult to bear we were constantly clinging to branches and rocks, the trail up was too steep and the path gets slippery, almost covered with mud. I was already breathless but I needed to focus on the trail. I had to wear hand gloves we bought from the barangay because some rocks have sharp edges and its a good thing that we all wear leggings for protection.

PicsArt_02-04-04.24.57.jpg
From starting point, It took us more than 2 hours to reach the peak. The ascend took us a lot of strength as we must fight the gravity, I pity my sister because she carried all our packed meals.

Once we saw the tip of the limestone we knew were already there. I was amazed by the view and somewhat scared because we're only a few feet from the cliff one wrong move and you'll fall.

Ofcourse I wouldnt want to missed the chance of taking photos to the summit so I was very careful with my steps. The stone edges was sharp which makes it difficult to sit.

received_1616836248364015.jpeg

At last, we made it! Once your on top and looking down from where you started, it felt great! The nature is truly beautiful and everything was green surrounded by trees, if only I could stay there longer however the peak was freezing and our clothes were already wet.

P_20180127_130712_vHDR_On.jpg

The struggle didnt end there, the rain keeps on pouring and the cool breeze of the wind blew like crazy. I felt like being soaked from ice and I was chilling like mad. We didnt stayed long on the peak and so we moved up a few feet where we could spend some time to eat our lunch.

PicsArt_02-04-04.36.30.jpgWe were all freezing while enjoying the food and stayed there probably less than an hour only. By the time we were done eating , we hurriedly packed everything on our bags and descend right away.

· · ─────── ·𖥸· ─────── · ·

Side trip to Tinipak Cave

The descend to summit was supposedly easy, but I WAS WRONG. I felt the temperature starts to drop and the tip of my fingers were so cold making it difficult to grab the twigs and rocks, thankful to our guide he was helping me until I can manage. We made a side trip to Tinipak Cave famous for its majestic clear water. Our guide distribute some handy flashlights as it was very dark inside. One must pass thru the small slippery entrance by going down using the man-made wooden ladder.

PicsArt_02-04-04.52.40.jpg
As we approched the inner cave we heard the loud splash of water and noises from the people who were there ahead of us. We nestled our tired feet and washed all the thick muds covering our shoes and clothes, while some of us took a dip in the water. Sorry I couldnt bear any longer the cold so maybe next time.

PicsArt_02-04-04.50.12.jpg
After a good long minutes, we backtrail to the camp site in order to grab some snacks and hot cup noodles.

Since we still have a long walk and rain has no plans of stopping, we decided to just change our clothes once we reach the barangay as there were plenty in the areas that offers a paid shower and rest rooms for only 20 pesos.

It was already dark when we headed home all were tired but most of all happy.

· · ─────── ·𖥸· ─────── · ·

The Essence of Hiking

Is to simply ENJOY.
Though the weather did not favor us most, the hike was truly worthy. I realized hiking isn’t about planning to get the perfect weather and perfect trail, but just by spending time with nature and all that surrounds it.

Before I was always doubting my capabilities despite many hiking experience but whenever I finished the trail I was always excited to share it with my friends and family. Hiking is good for our body, mind and soul even if only for a few hours. I am a nature seeker, connecting to the natural surroundings favors me most.

So guys!
Go.
Wander.

Be connected to the natural world.

Happy Hiking!👣

Sort:  

Great story telling right there! I hiked through a lot of mountains in the Philippines now but I've never been to Daraitan yet. Should be on my next list! See you on trail!

Tnx @ajcordenete! Wow I just followed you and resteemed your recent post! Those are brilliant shots ! Congrats

Ugh, I love this hiking story so much (engaging really). 💖 I am also quite literally unfit to do anything strenuous, but this wonderfully done post just inspired me to want to try hiking sometime this year. Will definitely consider Mt Mamara given the chance. 💕

Thank you @erangvee 😊 I will definitely look forward to that, Im pretty sure you wont regret hiking in Mt. Mamara.

Wow this is a nice hiking..
How i wish to have hiking like that..

Keep steeming!

Love,
@micch

A very well documented hiking story. Great tips here! Thank you for sharing. I climbed my first mountain recently and can relate to a lot of this. Keep the reviews coming!

Thats great @yasminep! Im glad to share my experience in Hiking. Thanks so much 🙂

Congratulations @yellowbyheart, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 13939 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $4367.03. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

wow! youre an inspiration to every bloggers out there! You nailed it madam. Kudos! Hope to see more travel Blog from you!

Thanks @jemmanuel! Glad to share what I enjoy 😉

This is what I like! Adventure!! fatty remover! Hahaha... I really miss the Magnetic Field at Ternate Cavite the river and falls...

Hahaha! Kuya @kennyroy I never knew bout that magnetic field in Cavite so I googled it 😁

try to read this... hehehe...
http://www.wowcavite.com/features/latest/magnetic-hill-in-ternate/

and here is some video of evidence... They use bar level...

Woah astig! 👍

Wow! i want to try hiking again! ive only tried it once and i sure did enjoy it!

Glad you did @shielajing! Where was your first hike? Mine was at Malatan-og falls in Negros ,and I was only wearing slippers haha ☺️

Wow congratulations you made it to the summit, i know hiking is not easy if you are not physically fit to that. Job well done girl. More mountains to hike, enjoy Philippines.

Aww thanks @essan-san! It took me a week to recover I got cramps on my right leg but feeling better now 😅

Thats such an awesome adventure. The whole river crossing reminded me of the river of styx for some reason lol. But rain or shine! Seemed like an awesome trek!

Awesome adventure! i really enjoyed your post. Happy Trails! :)