Grounding in Nature: Winter mossy woods on a rainy day. Hiking blog (20/1/2019)

in #sublimesunday5 years ago (edited)

Above: Me, Sunday 20th of January 2019. Rainy day, damp floor, crisp air and the greenest moss

Are you the kind of person that get outdoors under the rain?

The beginning of 2019 came with so many resolutions, I’m struggling to keep up but going at my pace… Nothing is done until it’s done, like one of my forthcoming songs says, so I have set my goals with no deadline, I just follow the task list and cross out a couple of things every day. Most important one is to nurture myself back to full health and for that I have started jogging again, fixing my messed sleep schedule, tidying my working place and of course the best therapy of all… Nature.


Slender birch trees

So here just sharing a few impressions Sunday 20th of January. It was cold and rainy but that didn’t stop me and @hedac from going outdoors. I kept recording drafts of new songs while Héctor drove, just humming random things the views inspired. A rainbow seemed to be determining our route, as we decided to venture with no plan, just escaping from the the rain. For today we visited Sorogain forest (Navarre, Spain). The woods were deliciously wet and mossy.

The creek in which I usually take baths in Summer was unruly and tumultuous. The waters that are hyaline and clear in the warmer seasons was murky and riveted with froth. We wondered of the fish, tadpoles and newts that usually inhabit them.

Tumultuous creek


The forest floor and green covered trunks show an striking contrast. Moss was almost "fluorescent green", so vivid against the fallen leaves. We keep on stumbling upon strangely shaped creatures, like magic being concealed in moss. I usually call them "Mossy" (musgosos) or "Mossy Bears" and I have a large collection of photos I will like compile on one post.


Some of the mossy roots looked like little creatures… I often joke and call them “Mossy Bears” as mossy in Spanish is spelt as “musg-oso”, moss and bear.

Musgoso (Mossy-bear) that looks like a fawn… can you see it?

We followed the trail uphill under the persistent rain and walked until Temperature dropped and hail started to fall… We feared snow might start to fall anytime and block the road, being away from civilization was not a good idea, yet in these cases you never know how fast a snowfall can block your way so we undo our path running!!!! yay! so that counts as jogging training today too, right?

As seasons flow once more it all turns bare and cold but save Green in your Heart (from my song Grow) Moss is one of the ways Green thrives in the bleak naked Winter. An evergreen promise of the life that will flourish soon.

Back in the car we enjoyed some comforting hot tea… and warmed our numb fingers.

And already looking forward to get lost in the woods again.

Me wearing a shirt with my logo YIDNETH, which is both an Y and a woman with rising arms. Considering to make some apparel

All pictures taken by me and @hedac 20/1/2019


Priscilla Hernandez
singer-songwriter & illustrator
http://yidneth.com

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

Thanks for the visit, :)

What a beautiful place to spend time under the rain @yidneth, the harmony of the woods and your words..really nice to enjoy😊

Beautiful, as always. I am headed out to do some grounding of my own. I will see if I can find some mossy bears here but I don't think they will be as woolly as yours. ;)

Forward them my greetings. I was in the snow today, it took long this Winter and will not last so spent the day rejoicing in the white

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @clayboyn and has been upvoted and will be featured in the weekly philosophy curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Many thanks and to @clayboyn too 😘 just back from more Nature grounding btw

The moss covered forests are incredibly beautiful, although I would stay well clear of that creek right now - it looks cold enough to freeze your bits right off lol

I think @yidneth Merch would work, everyone has Merch nowadays and it's very profitable if you gather a big enough following.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

I just came back from another Nature hike and it has snowed, without rackets I sunk mid waist down and returned soaked frozen wet lol. I usually bathe in rivers but not yet lol

Well I have a decent folloeing on ig and used to as musician though it stalled a bit, but merch would be a bit general, yidneth logo us a goddess, power of femineity, grow logo is for personal growth, and so on. I need to see, do not want to invest so it will be shortrun tests

So glad to see your beautiful face and hear you're outside enjoying nature. Thank you for bringing me along on your walk by sharing these pics and the stories. I love how bodies of water change during different seasons, seeing the creek rushing, then later in the year bathing in it. :)

Wish I could tour you along mossy paths my fae sister from overseas!

Your posts are beautiful because they have that wonderful, secretive, and magical scents all over them. The world looks fantastic from your point of view and I'm glad that you share that with us :).

I think @yidneth any resolutioin that includes walks in Nature are wonderful ones. I too love going for rambles, but unfortuately am missing my English country side walks as I had to return to the USA sooner than planned. I can't complain as I have lovely walks here too, but the air is so dry and cold compared to the moist and wondrous Winter air of Southern England, oh well.

I am trying to keep up with my only ONE resolution, which is an artist resolution I make each year. This year it was to focus on the decorative and relish in the beauty of repeat patterns using dog and female form, but having to come back early do to my father's ill health, has taken my studio time down to a mere hour or so in the morning and then the rest of the day I'm not really around to work. Oh well, life happens as they say.

Good luck with better sleep and walks! It will make you create beautiful music indeed!

Aw thanks for the good wishes, I'm approaching a time where for personal reasons I have to limit my studio time as well... and it kills me not to have the "center" in my mindset to be able to sit down a few hours to work consistently but we go with the flow. Sending hugs, and think of me when you see a mossy tree. Hugs

Beautiful post, as usual, @yidneth <3 These photographs really brought out the 'spirits' of the moss, of beautiful nature growing steadily and quietly and in such gorgeous colours of life <3 I feel refreshed when I stumbled through here :)

thanks always for stopping by you have superpowers... I see your goodness and comments all over encouraging everyone, for my part, thank you and I'm sure on behalf of everyone. As usual, too :) thanks for the encouragement

Beautiful hike!

and so very much needed, weekends ground and balance me due to Nature.

@yidneth, When it comes to actions towards our Resolutions or anything, in my opinion until we do pace is not that much matters. And yes, those roots are reflecting as creatures and it's also reflecting as you are exploring the Natural Art World. Stay blessed. 🙂

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Nature is my home and never fails to help organize my ideas. Best regards!

If nature is your home then You Are Blessed. Have a blessed time ahead. 🙂

Wow, love the moss on those trees!
K

I didn't correct the colour, it was really strikingly yellowish green, almost fluorescent against the forest floor. In real life it looked even more vivid.

You look like a 'dyosa' or goddess under tall trees.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

thank you, I fell at home in the woods and well every woman is a goddess but there in Nature I feel indeed empowered

looks like a great place to go mushroom hunting

I would think so too, as it's so deliciously damp but I found none, Pine woods are usually better for mushroom hunting, for any reason they are scarcer in beech forests


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @yidneth! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!