Do I Do Things Right, Did I Make Any Error (My Greatest Fear Was The Failure) - Atychiphobia

in #success7 years ago


credit

I know how it is for people to have atychiphobia which is the fear of failure. Have you been so afraid of failing at something you are doing and then you decided to stop so you do not fail?

So many people have been victims of atychiphobia before. I had this same experience some years back while growing up. Having a perfectionist as a mother was enough reason for me to flee from all house cores in at home. Most times, I would want to wash the dishes, but the fear of breaking them, or not getting them clean to my mother's taste always scare me off. This thing continued for years.


credit

I had always wanted to invest in businesses and real estate, but prior after my dad business went bankrupt I became scared of writing a business plan or proposal. I had always felt I would have a miscarriage of dream when it comes to business.

Soon I realised I didn't want to try anything new, I was always scared I had done things wrong, I became so concerned about how others would criticize what I did.

But I Wanted To Succeed, I Wanted To Have A Sense Of Purpose...


credit
Overcoming my greatest fear wasn't an easy thing. I had to go through several psychological and motivational help. I wanted to make an impact in life, but I could not if I was more scared of failing that succeeding all the time.

First, I had to change the way I saw failure. I stopped seeing failure as a bad thing, I started seeing failure as an opportunity to do do it better. I saw failure as a second chance to make things right.

I started believing in myself. I started seeing a bright at the end of what ever I wanted to do even before engaging in them. I started thinking positive about anything and everything I do.
I worked more on my self-confidence and self-esteem.


credit

I would always look at the good and bad side of what ever I did. I would view the worst case scenario that could come out of what ever I was doing, so I would not be caught unaware.

I started setting goals for myself. Setting goals really helped me, as i was always determined to acheive great things

Soon I was able to overcome my fear of failing and now, i can face whatever circumstance with a very strong will to succeed in it.

Sort:  

If you understand that you are a process and always learning then understand their is only results. Not failures. Most people have failed miserably. The only difference is certain people can control what failure means to them.

Failure is in the mind. The outcome of a process is result either positive or negative. The reason why people fail to achieve things is because they are scared of failing.

Thanks for taking tie to read my post.

It is how we process failure. We should fail and learn. Society looks at a situation that is black or white.

Awolowo once said:

The joy is not in falling, but rising each time we fall.

The best way to overcome a fear (even failure) is to face it.

That's right my friend, Failing to face your fear is failure itself

Our mindset and perception Is the barrier to success.
Bravo! @gbenga

Thanks mate, You are never bigger than your mind

Failure is never the end to anything, for me failure is success in finding out something else. Often times once I fail at something, I take it as success in finding out how the attempt should not be approached. The only true failure is trying something the same way after failing and refusing to get up after falling.

One thing I’ve learnt about Phobia is; You can overcome any phobia. Humans are born with only two phobias: Fear of loud noise (Phonophobia) and Fear of falling (basophobia), others are acquired overtime. My theory is; if they’re acquired, they can be dropped.
Nice piece on how to overcome atychiphobia

@gbenga, do you know why I'm a winner today? I've learnt how not to be intimidated by my past failures.

Not be intimidated by past failures is a very impressive drive to success.

I think your Name also shows you win always @ogoowinner

Hi @gbenga, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Thank you very much @shadowspub, I'm humbly honoured to be in your post

Thanks for this post actually i had this phobia when i was an undergraduate. Before then i never failed in anything really but having failed once i just became scared of it, i did my best to overcome it, but i would not say i overcame it, i can only say i survived it by just trying to be positive all the time it has helped me in many ways to control my thoughts and therefore helped to manage phobia for failure.