There are no shortcuts in entrepreneurship - failure story 3

in #success7 years ago

You cannot be everything in entrepreneurship.png

So my failure story 3 is here, this is interesting one, it even gives hint to another failure story which is coming, so I had started a website to help “bloggers” understand how a blogging platform “blogspot” worked. This was my first success in online adventures, why would I call it a success you may say? It used to grab around a 100 visitors every day, and it’s a story of 10 years back, people even now, dream of these figures, which is hard to achieve.

So at that time, SEO was booming, google search engine was not as smart as today back then, people were finding ways to figure out short cuts to gain better positioning, off course I was seeing all this and I wanted to try.

Little did I know that I could have experimented all those things on a different blog or a website, not on the one which is my main (actually the only one) so I started trying different techniques in SEO.

I call them “short cuts”. Why? They get you there sometimes. But for a short period of time only. Short cuts are the worst enemy of entrepreneurship, which can leave devastating damages to your moral.

So, I started getting more traction and more visitors, but these so call shortcuts were not meant to be long term, google updated their algorithm and here you go, they flagged my site understanding I was using “unethical” ways to promote my site to the top, and I was. I admit, it taught me a big lesson.

You need to be honest in business, and there are no short cuts in entrepreneurship.