Soggy succulents and a discovered deception!

in #succulents5 years ago

I'm gonna start with the deception, cuz this is just so peak capitalism that I just can't even...

See that pretty little cactus up above?

What cute little flowers it's got right?

Nope.

#FAKE

They were HOT GLUED on y'all!!!

Hot fucking glued.

This is apparently common practice in order to sell them faster. (I got this one at home depot, but lots of stores do this I guess)

Well it did work. I remember thinking it looked so healthy with all the flowers. 😏

So now, i'm trying to figure out how I can gently remove this glue without absolutely murdering this cactus. 🤨

And then....

Then I spaced that I live in rainforest country and didn't cover my succulents on the garden bench last night.

Woke up this morning to a downpour happening and my poor big planters and platters got soaked. 😯

Moved them back to the garage to dry out and hurried up and cleaned the grow tent so I could move the rest in there.

I'm not sure why I didn't just do this in the first place. Learning curve I guess. Lol.

Got the tent all prepped and ready to go.
Light is on a timer, fan and ventilation in place...

With all the dry plants moved in.

Luckily, there's still room to put the big planters in the back and my trays on the other table once they are ready. phew

I feel like that was a close one. 😎

Hehe.

Alright, gonna end on a gardening win...

We've got sprouts happening!

Just the dill and one tiny little mint, but I'll take it!

😍💗

Now i'm off to do chores before I pick up the kids from school and take them for a play date at their friend's house. Fun fun.
Thanks for reading steem fam! ✌💗

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I'm in a houseplant group on fb and have seen people post there with PAINTED succulents. Like, they coated the whole plant to make it shiny or a different color. Alternatively, they glue shit on like your flowers. Sometimes they glue things down on the top of the soil, and it's like ...how is water supposed to get through, or how is the soil supposed to breathe??
THIS SHIT PISSES ME OFF.
I haven't had any of my plants with that shit, but I haven't bought any in years. But still, talk about taking a wonderful thing and ruining it, and being disrespectful of life!

Right?!
You're supposed to decorate the POT, not the PLANT people!
Good grief. Lol 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, we get that a lot at Christmas and with winter plants - sprayed with dye or some strange substance intended to resemble snow. I was given one at Christmas and it seems to be holding up.

Congrats on your seedling success, and that's just disgusting about the fake flower...I had no clue stores do that shit now...insanity. Our instant gratification society.

I wish you much success in drying out the succulents that got wet. I love riding this rollercoaster with you hehe...thanks for sharing all the ups and downs!

Wow.. I didn't know hot glue could do that.. almost as good as duct tape !tip

🎁 Hi @khackett! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @davedickeyyall!

@davedickeyyall wrote lately about: #Themorningbowl From The Dog Park... Again Feel free to follow @davedickeyyall if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)