Growing Haworthias - The Truncatas

in #succulents6 years ago

Haworthia Truncata is a highly sought after species for collectors and so I am keen to grow these as they sell for high prices. They aren't difficult to grow, they are just rather slow. The local name for them is perdetane, which translates to "horse's teeth" - quite a good description of the plants as they are found in nature. They are buried quite deeply into the soil, with only the ridged windows sticking out. They also have massive roots which pull the plant deeper into the soil as it becomes drier

This one is Haworthia truncata, subspecies truncata and the windows are flat and rounder. It can be very pink, as this one is, or greener. These all grow in fan shapes
truncata v truncata.jpg

The truncata subspecies can be quite varied and this one is greener and the windows are ridged. This plant is still young and hasn't developed the little white ridges that are normally seen as they get bigger.
truncata.jpg

This one is a subspecies maughanii. This is the plant that I bought that arrived with one rotten leaf. So far, the rot doesn't seem to have spread, so I am holding thumbs. This one grows in a rosette.
truncata v maughanii.jpg

This one is forma crassa or a natural hybrid of subspecies maughanii and truncata. People like hybridising these further, because they can produce interesting patterns of white lines in the windows. As you can see, this one has grown in both a fan and a rosette.
haworthia truncata forma crassa.jpg

This one is a hybrid of a truncata and Haworthia splendens. It's still young, and I am waiting to see how the windows develop further. This one has taken a rosette form
truncata hybrid.jpg

Sort:  

Very beautiful Havortia!
I'm not an expert on them, I do not know which of them are rare, and which are not.
I'm always guided only by what I feel for the flower when I look at it.
I liked yours!

Thank you!

Its hard to hava favourite out of this bunch, but its hard to go past the 1st one. Awesome

The first one is a real looker

Beautiful collectibles,
I have a preference for the last, I love those purple!
It looks like sculptures.

They have amazing forms. It becomes purple from sun exposure. If there's not enough light. it becomes green and the leaves grow longer

These are really interesting varieties!

"Horses teeth," is a great description. The first one is striking, but I also like the last one.

There are some really apt local names for these plants

They look really look nice. I want to ask please: what are they used for? I've never seen a plant like this before.

They have no particular use, these are just weird and wonderful succulents that grow in my country (South Africa)

Oh, these are the kind of plants associated with extraterrestial planets. There is no doubt in my mind that nature is so diverse that can give us these amazing species that look unlike anything I have seen before.

Thank you for posting this pictures and sharing with us something you care so much about