Summer solstice

in #summer7 years ago

20170621_232115.jpg

Every year since I was 12 my family has celebrated both winter and summer solstices. I am 28 now, and since I have lived on my own I have carried on the tradition with friends. Most of my friends were unable to make it out late on a Wednesday night, so 3 of us made our way to a cliff spot overlooking the Stockton Lake in Missouri. The stars were dense, no moon to obstruct their view. I got to see 3 shooting stars, and make new wishes for the shortening days. During the summer solstice we burn the ideas thay we want to come to pass, like insecurities and regrets. All in all, it was a highly cathartic night with the perfect atmosphere.

Sort:  

Never heard about this tradition. So respect having such a beautiful tradition and keeping it alive!

Thank you! We dont have a lot of solidly based beliefs in any ideologies, but our family definitely has traditions. At christmas we listen to funk music while placing toy lizards on the tree.

That sounds simply divine. Happy belated Summer Solstice to you @sbullette.

Thank you. It was an incredible night, even if we did accidentally stay out way too late haha