Sorted the Amp out.

in #sundayvinyl3 years ago (edited)

I finally got around to modifying the video disc storage cabinet that my record deck sits on. Simple job really, remove the drawer, remove the sliding rails and fit an MDF shelf. The photo is deceiving, I spent weeks trying to find a way to match the wood for a shelf to the unit but gave up and bought this from a well known UK DIY store, and it almost matches, although you wouldn't think so looking at the photo which has turned out brighter than in real life.

The Numan amplifier is overkill for what I need, and the input/output options (Last button on the right) is mind-boggling. The thing is, if you're going to spend some money on a decent deck, then the original £40 Amazon amp I was using just seemed criminal.

HMV which is a music shop has started doing great swathes of vinyl records in their stores. A couple of Sundays ago, I went to our nearest one, Wolverhampton and seriously, spent an hour or so flipping through row upon row of memories, hands up all those who can remember going into a record store to look through what was available? Suddenly I was transported back to the 70s'. I'd already got Pink Floyd - Animals and Bauhaus - Crackle on CD/MP3, But I hadn't got the T.Rex or Lazarous David Bowies musical play he produced just before his death. I'm a huge Bowie fan, but sadly, I didn't enjoy the first two sides of this double album performed by the cast of the musical. The tracks, for me, ruined some of the iconic Bowie songs, and the reworking of This is not America almost had me throwing the LP across the room. Given I'd bought the damn thing, I went to play the second LP and, wait a minute! Where're the tracks? Only one side of the second LP had been pressed (I forgot to take a picture) the other side was just flat with no pressing. If truth be told, I was glad as it gave me a reason to return it to the store given I disliked it.

I've not finished with Sunday Vinyl, and maybe the three remaining albums will feature again, but I did discover I can control the volume on the Numan by bouncing the signal off the wall (Or the window?) when I'm sat around the corner from it. 🤣

My actual name is Pete

Find out Here why I have the username dick_turpin.


Find me on Social Media

https://mastodon.org.uk/@dick_turpin
https://castlecannon.house/profile/srednivashtar
https://twitter.com/dick_turpin
https://www.facebook.com/peter.cannon3

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
License explained: Examples
Create your license: Choose

Creative Commons Licence


Podcaster. FOSS, Linux & Creative Commons Advocate.
"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
Sort:  

We went to see the Lazarus musical that was at King's Cross the same day we went to the Bowie Celebration gig at Brixton a year after his death. Lazarus was 'interesting' as a sort of sequel to 'Man Who Fell To Earth' featuring the guy from Dexter. I was not desperate to get the album. I know Bauhaus got compared to Bowie by some. I guy I used to see gig around Bedford, Pete Bonas, played on some stuff by their front man Peter Murphy. Of course Animals is a true classic.

I re-arranged my setup to get proper access to the old Technics receiver I use as a pre-amp for my deck. It feeds into a mixer and then to my 'desktop' speakers which are actually pretty hefty and sound decent. I could potentially plug in more stuff, Wondering if I need the option for cassettes too, but I do not have too many of those now. I could digitise the old stuff.

!PIZZA

I bought some storage boxes off Amazon the other day to transfer all my cassette tapes and CDs from the cardboard box they were in. I was gobsmacked about how many tapes and CDs I have.

Most of my tapes were from my days of copying albums from the record library and anywhere else I could get them. Everything seems to be on Spotify now, so not much point in keeping them. Not got much obscure/rare stuff. Got a few hundred CDs, but keeping those.

"Everything seems to be on Spotify now, so not much point in keeping them. "
I have duplicates, if not triplicates, of the vast majority of my collection. (Vinyl, Cassette and MP3) for me, it's not about the format. It's about the nostalgia of playing a [my] tape or a [my] record that I used to play in the bedroom I shared with my younger brother and that I've not played since I was a teenager.

I've not duplicated too much of my old vinyl. It's not worth selling, so I'll keep it for now. Not taking up too much space. A generation is growing up who may not own physical media. I saw Sainsbury's will stop selling the shiny discs. Will they still do vinyl?

Connect

Trade


@dickturpin! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @steevc.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (6/10)