You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time-lapse of a Siwash Rock windy and cloudy sunset

in #sunset6 years ago

Even with a video camera, it turned out pretty good. If you have a still camera with automatic timelapse ability, it would likely be even better. 11 minutes of HD video chews up a lot of battery and storage!

If you do start shooting video, my first bit of advice would be to look for a tripod that has a fluid pan head. Without it, doing any panning and tracking results in a less than ideal "smooth" experience :) I just found a second Velbon CX 686 on craigslist for $30, but when I showed up to buy it, there was a broken piece and the seller sold it for $15 :) I had the exact same experience with my first CX 686, so craigslist has been spoiling me :) The first/original tripod has had so much use and some sand got into the smooth panning mechanism, so it has been having issue for a while now... she's about to be retired :)

Thanks for the support @keithboone!