Sedona at Sunset

We spent the past couple of days in Sedona, Arizona. First, let me say I never realized just how mountainous Arizona was. I always had the impression that pretty much from I-40 south it was flat desert with a few hills thrown in here and there. Was I ever wrong!

The first day we spent sunset at Airport Mesa. There were an awful lot of people trampling around, jockeying for position, all with cameras or (in most cases) phones up in the air trying to get photos. Yeah, I was one of them. I managed to get a few before being pushed out of the way.

20180217_180950.jpg
20180217_180953.jpg

The following evening we were out at the campsite for sunset since a storm front was moving in. Here's what that one looked like: 20180218_180643.jpg

If you ever find yourself in Sedona, I recommend making your way to Airport Mesa for sunset. Fair warning, it will be crowded, and it does cost $3 to park. But the view is spectacular, and if you plan it you can spend the afternoon having a picnic near the vortex area or walking the trails. It's a beautiful area if you can handle the scores of others that will be there.

Sort:  

I spent the summer of 2016 in Arizona and last summer in New Mexico. I have to say the dessert of Arizona is much prettier. I love these shots, thanks for sharing!

I grew up in Phoenix, AZ and grew up seeing these mountains. My wife says it's beautiful!