Super Blue Blood Moon

in #supermoon6 years ago (edited)

The amateur Photographer in me was both excited and disappointed last night. I was ready to take pictures of the fabled "Super Blue Blood Moon" event that occurred on the 31st January 2018.
I charged my camera up, found my tripod and set up my chair.
I was ready,
the moon was out and the lights were off. I lit a joint and sat back and enjoyed the show for a little bit, and let me tell you,
It was absolutely stunning.
Source. (http://www.abc.net.au/news/science/2018-01-31/blue-blood-moon-total-lunar-eclipse-over-australia/9318544)

So, now i'd gotten nicely stoned I decided to have my try at this whole "moon photography" thing everyone complained about getting wrong.

Boy did I overestimate my gear and skill.

I lean in to look at my first shot at I'm left in disbelief, all I managed to capture was a dot in the sky. It was clear that my 55mm lens just wasn't going to cut it this time.

I was going to have to get creative with my cropping if I was to get any kind of decent images.
I zoomed as much as my starter lens could changed my angle and took a few more.

Now I'm getting somewhere.
It is now February the first and I've had time to edit and crop my pictures from last night. Let's see how I went

So, while they not the highest of quality. I'm still proud of the pictures I got. It shown me where I need to improve and given me inspiration for more low light photography.

P.S) I caught a photo of the earths simulation screwing up

Sort:  

those are still pretty allright pics there.
I tried to make picture with my fabled smartphone....but I think I have to stick to macro haha.

This was enjoyable to read.

Yeah phone photos just look like a glowing golf ball XD
Thanks for the compliment. I thought if I'm giving this blogging thing a chance i might as well make it interesting!

Awesome photos, I wish I could have witnessed it. I've seen one years ago but not as impressive.

It was so surreal. I didn't expect to be able to see the moon with our shadow over it but we still could. Guess thats what gives it the orange colour

Beautiful experience I bet. Whenever I look at the moon and it's a crazy color I think back to a "experience " where I could hear it hum and think 🤔 I wonder what that sounds like 😂

Maybe you could hear the man on the moon singing away 😂

I didn't know steemit supported emoji, thats easier than finding an image link ever time lol.