Why I don’t like multi-vitamins

I am sure you have taken a multi vitamin at one time or another and most likely noticed zero difference in your daily life besides your pee turning bright yellow.The multivitamin is jam packed with so many vitamins and minerals its hard to believe that they get all of those ingredients into one small capsule.

Multivitamins can help in some areas by topping up your vitamin intake to optimum levels but can also hinder you in others by overloading your levels if you are already getting enough of that nutrient via your food. This could possibly inhibit the absorption of other vitamins and minerals because you have too much, causing you to be deficient where you were not deficient before.

For this reason I get all my athletes to go to a good GP and have their blood work done, find out what they are deficient in and then take that individual vitamin or mineral as recommended buy their GP.

I only recommend they use two brands when it comes to vitamins and minerals, BioCuiticles and Metagenics. Talk to your doctor about these brands and get some more advice as what will suit your nutritional needs.

In summary ditch the average mass produced multivitamin, get a blood test and top up on what you really need. You are much more likely to improve you health that way.

Regards 

Mr Sports Science 

Sort:  

Hi, great post! During my career, I tried on a couple of different occasions to take multivitamins based on tips from others and both times I found my overall health and function deteriorated. Would that stem from overloading on one or many vitamins?

Hi @aimmindfulness thanks! It's possible. I have heard the same from many others.

Great advice. I stopped taking a multi but should probably get my blood work done.

Thanks Jason. It's worth having a look at and just topping up with what you need and then getting re-tested a few months down the track.