The first person to have a head transplant may also experience an existential crisis on a level far beyond what we can even imagine.

in #surgery7 years ago (edited)

When I heard about the possibility of the world's first head transplant back in 2015, it struck me as something that would be impossible, considering that spinal cord injuries are to say the least... difficult to treat. I still stand by that today, however recent news that Valery Spiridonov, the Russian man who volunteered for the surgery will now be replaced by a not yet chosen Chinese volunteer. This of course is because the procedure will be taking place in China and logistically it would be easier to use a local volunteer.

Spiridonov said that this was a "weight off my shoulders" and I wholeheartedly agree with him, but it got me thinking. The first human to have a body that they didn't recognise as their own would without a doubt experience some sort of existential crisis. It would also take a heavy toll on them psychologically, knowing that from their neck down, it was previously all dead. I truly don't think someone could ever get used to something like that but despite this, I want to see the procedure be a full success. Who wouldn't?

Sort:  

Is the backbone part of the brain? What about the heart & gut? What about the phantom limbs problems? What is the difference between losing a limb and losing all of your limbs despite them being replaced with new limbs as in a new body? Is there a soul, a spirit, anything supernatural?