Post-Irma, 12 days after riding the storm out.

in #survival7 years ago (edited)

So you say hurricane Irma is old news? That's because you didn't sit through it like I did.

We are lucky that we only sustained little damage to the house and our chickens survived as well.

The electric company had said possibly no power for two weeks or more after #HurricaneIrma passes through... I waited 12 days. Waited and waited and waited, till now, finally back up and running. I literally just got power back YEA :)

I was prepared for a power outage, but not 12 days prepared. You never know when a disaster will hit. Everyone should prepare and believe you me, I will be more prepared in case this ever happens again.

Why didn't I get out?
It was not mandatory where I was and it was better to stay off the roads so the mandatory people could get out. The governor was telling nonmandatory residents to not drive out of state and to go inland to friends or shelters.

#Irma is my 2nd hurricane since moving to SW FL, Wilma had been my first. While Wilma was a bitch, Irma was much louder and much bitchier.

My family and I rode out Irma in our rented home in Labelle
https://steemit.com/hurricaneirma/@mrsray/where-are-going-to-be-during-fl-predicted-hurricane-irma-landfall
which you can see on the right of Fort Myers, Lee County.

9/10/17 4:25 p.m.
An extreme wind warning was issued for Lee County as the eyewall of Hurricane Irma is heading north toward southern Lee County, according to the National Weather Service of Miami. (They were not kidding, it was extremely windy)

The center of Irma's eye passed over Cudjoe Key at 9:10 a.m. ET, the National Hurricane Center reported, and by 3:35 p.m. it made landfall again on Marco Island, 79.9 miles south of Labelle.

marcoisland.png
1 h 24 min (79.9 mi) via FL-80 W and I-75 S


A satellite image of Irma hovering off Florida’s southwest coast, taken around midday Sunday. Photo: NASA GFSC GOES Project

I was in one of the worst parts of the storm, top right of the eye...
https://steemit.com/hurricaneirma/@mrsray/where-are-going-to-be-during-fl-predicted-hurricane-irma-landfall
Tornado warnings were in place across the state Sunday as thousands of Floridians were hunkered down in homes and shelters, including me, while howling gales rattled shuttered windows and tore trees up by their roots.

IMHO I think the fear of a tornado was what made me the most nervous. I kept listening for the tornado 'train' sound. Although I truly don't know what was worse; the worry of a tornado, the scary winds as Irma went by, the mosquitoes that are now almost unbearable or the stifling heat for 12 days #postirma.

see the eye as it covers Florida ...
https://www.nbcnews.com/widget/video-embed/1043340867593

Combined with Hurricane Harvey, Irma marks the first time in recorded history that two Category 4 hurricanes have made landfall in the U.S. in the same year — much less back-to-back and 16 days apart.

Again, disasters can happen anywhere at any time, prepare yourself and your loved ones... never stop building up your supplies, because you never know how long you will have to go.

Follow me for upcoming reviews of items that I had #prepped for #survival, what else I should have prepped and other things I learned from Irma.

C✿mment bel✿w
SteemintSignature720x260sample.png

Sort:  

Upvote this reply and @OriginalWorks Bot will check this post to be an Original Work and Upvote it!.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mrsray to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!