Scrappy Yarn

in #sustainability6 years ago (edited)

What do I do with the little scraps of fiber sitting around the studio; when I have leftover fiber, bits and bobs, tufts from other projects? I can't make a full project, so sometimes I just combine down. I will either blend all the scraps together, which makes a muddy blend, or sometimes I'll spin scraps end to end. Each yarn is unique, a one of a kind creation. Sometimes that's a good thing, sometimes it ends up looking like clown barf and sometimes it looks like clown barf until you knit it up. The rush of not knowing.

IMAG2244_medium.jpg

Recently, while my mother-in-law was in the hospital, I brought all the different scrappy yarns I had on hand and made hats. Most of the hats I crocheted using a puff stitch. Something incredible happens every time. The color pops. All of a sudden, I've got a fashion piece.

IMAG2317_medium2.jpg

It all starts out with scraps.


luthlogobanner (1).png

All photos and text property of @luthvarian

Sort:  

Ooooooo I love that hat!! grabby hands

Pretty cool hat and made from scraps too! Definitely a fashion statement.

This is the reason I try not to throw all my waste away! Waste from one project isn't the same as trash fiber.

The hats really are beautiful! I love that they are made from scraps! I am into reusing and recycling in a big way.