Snow Day in the Fiber Studio

in #sustainability6 years ago

IMAG2649.jpg

I was supposed to meet a friend for a coffee and knit date, but the snow started to come down hard and fast. The roads are pretty gross. I made it to the edge of my neighborhood before I turned back. I suppose the universe is telling me that today is a good day to stay in and clean up the studio.

IMAG2640.jpg

I finished plying our fractal yarn on Thursday. It is hanging in the studio, drying. That means our bobbins are cleared and we're ready to start playing with silk on Tuesday!

IMAG2642.jpg

I've also made a hat for my colleague who helped me get some good photos of my new aprons. The was made from an overspun Shetland cable-plied yarn. Because the yarn was overspun, I chose to do a crochet project instead of a knit project.

Typically, yarn that is spun clockwise and plied counter-clockwise is ideal for knitting. If it is spun counter-clockwise and plied clockwise, it is better for crochet. When we knit or crochet we twist the yarn slightly as we go and this twist happens in the opposite direction for each craft. That is why if we use "knitting" yarn for crochet, it becomes easier to split the ply.

The Shetland cable was spun with knitting in mind. However, I added too much twist to the yarn. So, crocheting helped remove some of the excess twist and balanced the yarn out.

Now to see what else I can wrap up until the weather clears!


luthlogobanner (1).png

All photos and text property of @luthvarian

Sort:  

Which direction is commercial bought yarn usually spun in? I have crocheted for years and didn't even realize that they were plied in different ways for different crafts

Most commercial yarns are spun in the S twist direction (good for knitting). When you knit with it, the twist is tightened slightly. When you crochet with it, the twist is loosened. If you've ever used Red Heart to crochet, sometimes you'll notice your crochet hook will split the ply, especially on more complex stitches which require more turns of the hook.

I really appreciate the technical information you include @luthvarian... I am finally able to understand re the yarn splitting.

I'm glad I have something useful to add to the community! :-)

Somehow I feel like your yarn twisting explanation is one of the greatest tid bits of knowledge I have gained in quite some time, thanks!

Its one of the reasons why it is nice to be able to make your own yarn! Its little things that make the effort worth it. :-)