๐Ÿ”ฅ Steemit Vision Quest - Week 2: Night Flight

in #svq โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Today begins the second round of the Steemit Vision Quest ( #svq ), where we bring our Visions into focus, like stars joining their rays into one potent light beam. This new community challenge encourages us to slow down, check in, and ask ourselves: What Does My Higher Self See?


Steemit Vision Quest - Week 2

The Theme

"Night Flight" is our SVQ theme for Week 2. To enter the contest, you'll express yourself creatively with an original artwork that helps us to visualize the theme: Night Flight.


The Invitation

  • Create an original artwork that helps us to visualize this week's theme.
    • Note: Illustrations, stories, and songs are a few good examples.
    • Note: Artworks may include new originals, old originals, or fresh remakes.
    • Note: Please show your work so we can delight in the genius in your creative process. In future rounds, this will be a requirement for all valid entries.
  • Be daring, lively, and raw.
  • Enter โ€œSteemit Vision Questโ€ as the beginning of your post title.
  • Choose #svq as your first tag. Recommended tags also include: #future #art and #community
  • Add a link to your post in the Reply section of Monday's post (the one you see here), which introduces the week's theme.
  • Sunday is the due date for entries each week.
  • [Optional] Upvote, Reply, and Resteem, as you feel called.

The Incentives

  • The Top 11 entries will be spotlighted in a curated list.
  • 100% of Steem Dollars earned by Monday's introductory post each week will be distributed among the Top 11.
  • Upvotes, Replies, and Resteems will promote your appropriate and original posts.
  • [Most Important] All of us may actively give and receive the gifts of our Co-Creations. This is our Work, with a capital "W", and this is what Steemit is all about.

The Calling

Dear Dream Catcher, capture your paradise, bringing heaven here and now. Dear Trailblazer, pursue your purpose, taking the journey led by the heart. Dear Storyteller, create and express your new narrative. Dear Designer, bring your passions into new creations that go beyond function and stir the emotions. Dear Symphony Conductor, assemble your various instruments together to sing in harmony. Dear Player, elevate life with your lightness that lifts others up. Dear Artrepreneur, present your gifts that bring value into the world. Dear Altruist, demonstrate your care for the wellbeing of others.

Steemit Vision Quest challenges you, dear Visionary, to bring your Vision for the future into focus for the higher good of all of us.


The Continuation

As you can see from Week 1, SVQ is starting strong, with a blend of surreal, ultra-real, and superconscious Visions! Look for a "Top 11" list this week, spotlighting the treasures we're unearthing here, with the theme: Sky Meets Sea. I greatly look forward to more otherworldly experiences in Week 2, with the theme: Night Flight. And after this, I eagerly anticipate Week 3, when the theme will be: Angels Among Us.


Sort: ย 

My entry for Week 2 is an art film, called โ€œNight Flight,โ€ featuring a poem by Mary Oliver accompanied by a singing bowl and whippoorwill.

https://steemit.com/svq/@cabelindsay/steemit-vision-quest-week-2-night-flight-art-film

Hi @cabelindsay. Below you will find my submission post for "Night Flight".
https://steemit.com/svq/@elohprojects/steemit-vision-quest-the-avatar-and-the-city-of-god

I hope you enjoy the breakdown. "Avatar" is a record of an inward journey through the dark night (or few years) of the soul and then the resolution in the light of awareness. The post is quite involved already so I didn't include a step-by-step but there are several detail shots, explanations and use cases. Please let me know if you would like to me to add some process shots. I noticed you discussing this in the comments though they weren't a requirement within the body of the post.

Here is the full image.
Eloh_Projects_Avatar_Wazshop_02.07.2018.jpg

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Seeing your Vision here, I'm reminded that the Creator designed us to Create; this is our Work, with a capital W. And so I honor the Artist in you, just as I honor the Art you are.

Inside this "Night Flight" of yours, I see sacred geometry in the taurus and the Flower of Life symbols, and I see fine lines connecting what looks like constellations, as if to remind us of the strings of connection intertwines all. I see the faces of indigenous people and the face of the blue interbeing below and the golden astralbeing above, just allowing my mind to bring some interpretation the mystery. I see a pyramid that invites me to climb higher. I see a stairwell, a slide, and a snake ride, inviting me to go lower. I'm moved by your winged sun, which I've also envisioned, and I honor the San Pedro journey that worked wonders through you.

Thank you for the Journey. Aho.

Wow. Beautiful insights. Itโ€™s refreshing and inspiring to hear cogent and pointed remarks concerning a piece of my work. Thank you for putting on this contest @cabelindsay.

Hey @elohprojects, I want you to know we've showcased your Artwork here as a highlight from this week's Steemit Vision Quest: ๐Ÿ’Ž Steemit Vision Quest - Week 2: Night Flight [Highlights]. Congratulations, and thank you!

Awesome! Thank you @cabelindsay. I will definitely participate in future contests. Thank you for doing this and for getting people involved. I definitely appreciate your thoughtful insight and the great time you invest in your comments on our work. Take good care:)

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Hey @mountainjewel, I want you to know we've showcased your Artwork here as a highlight from this week's Steemit Vision Quest: ๐Ÿ’Ž Steemit Vision Quest - Week 2: Night Flight [Highlights]. Congratulations, and thank you!

๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’•

Our Vision Quest owl is alive!
Owl gif
project_1518123783305.gif

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Here is my entry this week! Thanks for the head's up for next week, I will use the extra time lol!
https://steemit.com/svp/@fishyculture/night-s-journey
LOL! I actually DID read that whole thing about "Is it a g or a q?" and I managed to tag mine "svp" still... Some people's children!

These owls' voices call me to close my eyes, and open my extrasensory perception. There, in that space of nothingness, I find peace in the stillness of this moment. Breathing in, I draw in the peace that comes from beneath me, where the cold earth holds me. The entire forest glows, as my inner eyes adapt to the darkness. The entire forest glows, as I perceive the energies. The entire forest glows.

Thank you for your Work here, and the wings you've given me to "soar into the nothingness," as you say, and to "be the dreamer and the dream."

Thank you for hosting this! It is a most interesting "guided meditation" if you will, and you are a most gifted guide!

It does feel like a guided meditation, yes! I was feeling that same thought as I listened to your owls this morning, resonating with your guidance. Turns out, we are all the guides. :)

Hey @fishyculture, I want you to know we've showcased your Artwork here as a highlight from this week's Steemit Vision Quest: ๐Ÿ’Ž Steemit Vision Quest - Week 2: Night Flight [Highlights]. Congratulations, and thank you!

Aw... Thank you! You are too sweet to a very marginal artist lol! I have really enjoyed this, it is taking me back to some basics I have neglected.

Hi @cabelindsay here's my entry for this weeks vision quest.
https://steemit.com/svq/@trucklife-family/steemit-vision-quest-night-flight
Thanks for putting this all together x

Hey @trucklife-family, I want you to know we've showcased your Artwork here as a highlight from this week's Steemit Vision Quest: ๐Ÿ’Ž Steemit Vision Quest - Week 2: Night Flight [Highlights]. Congratulations, and thank you!

I appreciate the way your poem acknowledges the Journey that a dream can take us on. You're right that it's something to be excited for, something to look forward to. Yeah, I've often dreaded sleep because it took time away from my Work, but then there's that other Work that must be done in that place there, and that other Work is pretty exciting, with an attitude of gratitude.

I like the way this image combines the astral with the earthly. It's as if we people originate as star seeds, planted here on earth in order to learn how to shine. The sun, moon, and stars witness the ways we grow, as we learn to hold a glow, and radiate. The woman in your image appears to be rising from the depths of the emotions, bearing the brilliance of this beauty in her nakedness. I see inside her blue hue the reminder of her originโ€“the sky and sea.

The stars wish to be seen.

A friend told me that once. I believe he's exactly right. The more we see the stars, the more we want to see the stars. And the more we seek their brightness, the brighter they shine for us.

Here is my entry for Steemit Vision Quest - Week 2: Night Flight:
https://steemit.com/svq/@thekittygirl/steemit-vision-quest-week-2-night-flight

It is an original poem and an original photographic artwork, by me. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Good news: We've showcased your Artwork as a highlight from this week's Steemit Vision Quest: ๐Ÿ’Ž Steemit Vision Quest - Week 2: Night Flight [Highlights]. Congratulations, and thank you!

I sure appreciate a person who shows such reverence for the celestial presence that is the Moon. I like the way you see the divinity in Her.

Hi Cabe
This was a tough one. Thanks for your encouragement and sharing your self so generously.
https://steemit.com/svq/@girlbeforemirror/steemit-vision-quest-submission-week-2-night-flight

Feels so right to have your words here, being in the mode of melancholy, and having the courage to take us under your raven wings for a while and see life from your night sky. Thank you.

Hi!

Maybe it's too late to be in the contest but in the same way I want to share this with you because I do for the contest and I really tried and put my heart into this work, I also felt very happy and inspired to do this for the contest.

Just take a little moment to see it. I would like to know your opinion.

https://steemit.com/svq/@cronosclocks/steemit-vision-quest-week-2-night-flight-visual-poetry

Thank you for these initiatives that keep us artists in constant growth.

As I expressed on your post page, I feel very grateful for this Vision of yours. It carries me on a Journey, to stark and silent places where I want to be, getting in touch with the source of my desires. Looking at the shadow side of life, and being OK being there, observing with a soft gaze.

It works with the theme so appropriately, thank you, and I believe it raises the bar for this entire event because it is so multi-faceted, so deep, so next-level. Thank you so much.

Good news: We've celebrated you as the featured Vision Quester this week, and we've showcased your Artwork in the Spotlight: ๐Ÿ’Ž Steemit Vision Quest - Week 2: Night Flight [Highlights]. Congratulations, and thank you!

I truly admire this Vision of yours. Thank you. If you're willing to share a bit more about your image here, we'd love to see some of the stages of your artistic process, so we can understand your intention. Will you please elaborate, and let us see behind the scenes?

It's kind of an unstated "Rule" about the Steemit Vision Quest: We want to connect with you as an artist, as well as we want to connect with your Vision.

U5drgXuvJChfVbSqvqWYSjHubqCq7t1_1680x8400.jpg
this is my drawing of acrylic paint and I have made arrangements on the picture and made the theme fit. Inspired by van gogh's starry night painting, I tried to give that mood.
While in a mental institution in France, he grasped one of the most complex and difficult concepts in the world: turbulence
Van Gogh had one of the darkest moments of his life. nevertheless succeeded in dissolving one of the most complex concepts of physics and mathematics in the majesty of art.

Thank you of offering this glimpse into your artistic process. Yes, in fact, Starry Night came to mind when I first saw your image above. Love it.

Hello @caleblindsay. I saw that you commented in an insightful way to something i said about anothers work. Your words made me curious so i came over to say hi. I am new to the steemit community and have much to learn. But one thing i am doing is reaching out to interesting people. I see that you have a contest so i would like to contribute what i have. I am not certain if it falls within the guidelines. If it does not, no worries on my part. I am really just wanting to connect. It is a collaboration with an artist friend of mine and me. My part was the poetry and coproducing the music. Peace friend.
https://steemit.com/music/@platosgroove/0oczi1o6
received_105717896686815.jpeg

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Oh man, I am enthralled by your words, and the delivery of these words too. Even the artwork your sharing here paints that picture so well. I'd say that this does qualify as a valid entry, at this early stage in SVQ. We're making some adjustments to the rules, for the upcoming rounds, because the co-facilitators and I would really like to know the artistic process behind each of the Visions we're seeing here. This will allow us to better feel the artist's motivation and intention, and inspiration, which will then allow us to better know each of the Vision Questers, and to better understand the Vision. So, if you're willing, please bring us behind the scenes of your poetry, and I'm confident we will appreciate your Work even more. Thank you.

Hey brother. Thank you for your authentic and thoughtful reply. It is good to meet you Sir. Peace

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Hi @cabelindsay do you still need my help with last weeks top 11? Did you see that there might be a typo? People are posting in SVQ and SVG ... let me know if I can help! Iโ€™ll be posting Week 2 in my groups too. Upvoted and resteemed! xx ๐Ÿฆ…

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

What's the confusion is about SVG? The lowercase Q looks like a lowercase G? Nice catch! We can change it to #vision-quest or #visionquest, if you think that's more intuitive. I'm OK with leaving it as #svq too, because that's a pretty simple acronym. Let me know your thoughts. Thank you Sisterlove!

Yes please, I'd love your help with exactly that: Let me know your #1 favorite entry of Week 1 and then maybe select a handful of secondary favorites that belong in the spotlight. We have at least one additional person on the team: @rensoul17, who will help with the same. I'll credit the two of you as co-facilitators with me when I launch the Thursday Recap. Let me know whenever you see opportunities for improvement as we move forward, and we'll continue to tighten things up and make it great! Feels like it's taking off already, I'm amazed!


Note: I'll plan on sending at least $1 STEEM to each person with an entry, and I anticipate this reward will go way up as the contest continues.

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Hi there Brother-love, I think in your post .. where you are giving instructions on where everyone is to post it reads "svg." It is in your list and how you want them to enter the post for consideration. Yes "svq" is perfect and I think many have already started in both tags, so svq is appropriate. I will go through both tags and I think some put their links in your original post too. So I will scour the three locations for you.

The 1 Steem is very nice of you, as we can see they have all put in so much work and creativity. It is truly lovely and filled with so much personality. I love them all. I will pick my top favorite and a handful of others as a second.

Sounds good that you have someone else too, three different perspectives are a good thing.

Big Hugs and Congrats on a wonderful Initiative! xx Eagle

Oh yes, I see that now, Jeeze! How funny. lol. I corrected the mistake. Thank you SO MUCH for seeing the error there and letting me know. Your support feels huge here! Your second set of eyes, your willingness to search for multiple tags... Really appreciate you, you know. Thank you again.

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Brother! I looked through everything and have my suggestions. You are so amazingly positive, and who cannot help but LOVE you!! LOL Seriously.
So, through my selection process I took into consideration the artistic process, flow, writing, showing how the art was created, I cannot open dTube so anyone that submitted something in that way I was not able to open those. If you would still like me to help I would like to suggest that people show how they developed their art, because I do not know what is theirs and what is borrowed or a mix of both. Photos were not sourced or stated that it was theirs alone. Also, if they use dTube there is another link they can use, I think it is IPFS so if people cannot use dtube they can still view the entries. Where would you like me to post my suggestions for your consideration? :) @cabelindsay

You're so smart and perceptive. Yes, I'll add a note, requesting people show their artistic process. I know what you mean about DTube. Let's discuss. Email works well for me, thanks! [email protected] <3!

Got it! Email sent. xx

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

IMG_20180205_175650_408.jpg

What did you say? My head's in the clouds ๐ŸŒฌ๏ธ๐ŸŒˆโ˜บ #svq

Hey there, can I participate with this one? It's a piece I made years back though...

Night owl.jpg

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Hi yes, it's an awesome image, perfect for the theme of this week's contest. To make this a qualified entry, we ask that you write up a post and express your artistic process behind this artwork. For example, we'd like to see: (1) proof that you are the creator; and (2) passion that will help us to understand your intentions with this piece. This will help us to understand the genius that inspired you to create this. And then, leave us a Reply here, linking to your post. Thank you!

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

I'll do my best, this is an older piece, and I have difficulty documenting my works in phases. But I like the energy you bring together here, so I'll try and make a qualifying post :D

Salgado-bats-small.jpg

Another fantastic image! Yes, I was just thinking of the bats last night, and recognizing how appropriate they are as animal symbols of "Night Flight." Here in Austin, the bats are our beloved neighbors. They congregate under a big bridge here in a city center, and spectators gather around to see them at dusk.

Hey Cabe, Bats are awesome, but I went with the Owl, it was the first one to spring to mind... Here's my entry :D
https://steemit.com/svq/@artzanolino/steemit-vision-quest-night-flight-up-owl-the-time

Great posts

Ah beautiful man... Such an evocative theme for the week... my imagination is already soaring. But I will let it dance and play, chewing this theme through the week until I feel it drop in and scream to be delivered. ;)

Thanks again for opening this space Cabe, its really helping me to find the beauty in Steemit.

How exciting! And so happy to hear this:

helping me to find the beauty in Steemit.

I felt that way when I first discovered the Steemit Open Mic ( #openmic ), where I found a certain place of belonging. I hope we can hold space in SVQ for similar creative expression, and connection. I'm delighted to hear from you again, grateful for the ways you've already contributed. I hope you will think of this as a co-creation, where we can draw closer together as we continue to honor each other's Visions. I honor you for being here, brother.

Fellow co-creator by your side my man. :)
Your work on the SVQ summary post today was really special. I am at your service if you need support or help along the way, just say the word.

I feel that, brother. I'm thinking the same thing. Let me resonate on the feeling and we'll figure out how things shake up. Thank you.

Hi Cabe
It's 1am in my land.
I have something half constructed. I can't quite prize it from my brain. I will sleep on it and hopefully a night vision will deliver it on ravens wing and I will wake up and finish it.
โœ๐Ÿ’ญ๐ŸŒ™โœจ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ”ฎ๐Ÿ“๐ŸŽถ

How exciting, I greatly look forward to seeing what you're seeing! Yes, and I think you've discovered a special angle of the SVQ: A place where we can share our wondrous dreams.

This is amazing...
Great photo..
Am on it..

It's a pleasure to see you, and meet you. Glad to know you now, my new friend, and I'm grateful for your note.

Wow...
So officially friends..
Thats great..

ANNOUNCEMENT EVERYBODY!!

AM OFFICIALLY FRIENDS WITH @cabelindsay

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

We can be instant BFFs, right?! ;) Seriously happy you're here, and I do hope you'll jump in with an entry.

Most definitely..
BFFs it is!!
OMG! Am so excited..
Lets chat up on steemit.chat

Awesome contest @cabelindsay. It's nice that you offer the ability to post works already created as it can be very time consuming to regularly create new works for contests . I have a very involved piece created last year that I think will fit perfect with your theme. I have been planning to post a break down of the piece so this is great motivation to do so. I will post it tomorrow:) Thanks again.

Inspiring! Im excited to try something for this... I'll be back! x

he aqui el mejor Volador Nocturno
07dd5aa84f70d1c87d001fecbe642339.jpg

Awesome image. Reminds me of the artwork of Andy Smetanka, who creates animated movies from silhouette paper cutouts. Here's an example:

indeed steady

It is a little poetry reflecting the magical space that flight provides me in my life. I treasure the long haul flights that are so therapeutic for my mind.

https://steemit.com/svq/@thecreativerebel/steemit-vision-quest-week-2-night-flight

Good news: We've showcased your Artwork as a highlight from this week's Steemit Vision Quest: ๐Ÿ’Ž Steemit Vision Quest - Week 2: Night Flight [Highlights]. Congratulations, and thank you!