10 Reminders That I Live in Sweden…

in #sweden5 years ago (edited)

I know I’ve been living in Sweden when:

  1. Someone I know plays golf and votes for the Left Party

  2. I’m wearing red pants and I don’t think twice about it (I also have a pair of bright green and light blue slacks.)

  3. I’m no longer uncomfortable with long periods of silence

  4. But I wrap up converations with a strange “ummm” that starts low and ends mid range, signalling to the other Swedes that this conversation is over

  5. I walk past a slide at a playground that’s shaped like a caviar tube

  6. I have an adjustable desk at work so I can stand up (Employers are required to provide stand-up desks.)

  7. I took five weeks off this summer — two weeks of vacation and three weeks of paternity leave

  8. We just had an election, and I just passed a sign for a political party called: The Pirate Party

  9. I have opinions about Swedish meatballs and have gotten used to robotic lawnmowers

  10. I feel a bit emotional when I hear Öppna Landskap

Sort:  

Congratulations @gabrielstein! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @gabrielstein! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @gabrielstein! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @gabrielstein! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!